West Virginia Window Tinting Laws: What You Need to Know [2023]

Car window tinting laws in West Virginia –  Are you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in West Virginia? 

If so, you must be aware of the state’s window tint laws. In West Virginia, there are various rules and restrictions on how dark your window tint can be, depending on the type of window.

In this article, we’ll break down the West Virginia window tint law so you know exactly what’s allowed and not. We’ll also discuss the potential consequences of getting your windows tinted illegally.

So whether you’re just curious about the law or ready to start shopping for a tint shop, read on for all the information you need about West Virginia window tinting laws.

Window tint darkness in West Virginia

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in West Virginia is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in West Virginia

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield.
Rear window Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in West Virginia

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tint Reflection in West Virginia

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. West Virginia window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

West Virginia Window Tinting Laws-guide

West Virginia window tint rules and regulations

West Virginia has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: Double-side mirrors are required in this state if any window behind the driver is tinted.
Certificates: Manufacturers of film need to certify the film they sell in West Virginia. Ask your dealer if they are using certified film.
Restricted Colors: Amber, Yellow, and red window tint colors are not permitted.
Medical Exceptions: West Virginia allows medical exemptions for special tint.
Stickers The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on each tinted car window.
Penalties:  Misdemeanor with a maximum $200 fine.

Remember that West Virginia tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.  

Window Tint Violations in West Virginia

Window tint ticket tickets within West Virginia can be assessed at up to $200 for each violation. The violations of window tint are classified as misdemeanors. They can become a serious legal problem in the event of multiple citations or if the tint violation occurs when you face other legal issues.

The fact is that $200 is the most current West Virginia window ticket fine that is allowed by the state’s statute code (CHAPTER 17C. TRAFFIC REGULATIONS AND LAWS OF THE ROAD. ARTICLE 15.

EQUIPMENT. SS17C-15-36a. Sunscreening devices and penalties) and, as long as you swiftly have your tint removed illegally one violation should not cause a huge problem.

Window Tint Laws in West Virginia for Trucks, Vans, and SUVs

West Virginia tint laws for vehicles other than cars, including trucks and sport utility vehicles RVs, and vans (an abbreviation used for vehicles that are not cars is MPV, which translates to the multi-purpose vehicle, referred to) states that these types of vehicles can have a VLT 345 or lower window tints on side windows facing the front (those of the driver and the shotgun-seat passenger) and also windows tinted in any dark (including blackout tint for a limo) as well as on the rear side windows, and in their windshields at the rear.

Like window tints for cars in West Virginia, window film applied to MPVs could be as much as 20% reflective. The colors amber, yellow and red are prohibited.

Car Window Tint Laws in West Virginia

In West Virginia, cars (meaning sedans as well as convertibles, coupes and sedans) could have window tint that lets in at least 35 percent of the sun’s sunlight on all sides of the windows and the window in the rear.

Window tinting is done with what’s known as a VLT rating, also known as a visible light transmission rating of 35%. The higher the VLT rating, the lighter tinted windows are to be compared.

The tints of cars within West Virginia can be as high as 20% reflective (mirrored, e.g.) in appearance. Therefore, some metallic tints are permissible. Like windshields, red, yellow and amber window tint shades are prohibited in California.

Windshield Tint Rules in West Virginia

All private vehicles registered in West Virginia (cars, trucks, SUVs, and more.) must adhere to the same regulations regarding front windshield tint. A thin strip of non-reflective window tint is permitted across the top 5 inches of the glass (an area usually marked with the combination of letters and numbers AS-1, also known as the “AS-1” line). The tint cannot be yellow, amber or red in hue.

Tint Law References:

FAQs West Virginia Window Tint Laws

What are the West Virginia window tinting laws?

It is the West Virginia window tinting laws permit a maximum of 35 percent visible light transmission (VLT) on the front side windows as well as the rear window. The windshield may have a non-reflective tint on the upper 5 inches, but there is no tint below the threshold.

What is the darkest legal tint in WV?

The darkest legal tint in WV is a VLT of 35%.

Can I get a medical exemption for window tint in WV?

Yes, you can obtain an exemption for medical reasons to use window tints in WV, provided you can get a doctor’s prescription. The prescription should state that tinting is needed to treat your medical condition.

What are the penalties for illegal window tint in WV?

The penalties for violating illegal window tints in WV can be severe in proportion to the offense’s seriousness. If caught in the first instance, you could be given either a citation or a warning. In the event of a repeat offense, you could be fined as high as $100. If you commit a third or subsequent incident, you could be fined as high as $200, and your car could be taken away.

Can I tint my car windows if I am under 18 years old?

No, you cannot tint your car windows if you are under 18 years old in WV.

Where can I get my car windows tinted in WV?

You can get your car windows tinted in WV in many places. You can find a list of tint shops online or by asking your local auto parts store.

Leave a Comment