Virginia Window Tinting Laws 2023: Everything You Need to Know

Car window tinting laws in Virginia –  Are you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in Virginia?  If so, you must be aware of the state’s window tint laws.

In Virginia, there are various rules and restrictions on how dark your window tint can be, depending on the type of window. In this article, we’ll break down the Virginia window tint law so you know exactly what’s allowed and not.

We’ll also discuss the potential consequences of getting your windows tinted illegally. So whether you’re just curious about the law or ready to start shopping for a tint shop, read on for all the information you need about Virginia window tinting laws.

Window tint darkness in Virginia

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Virginia is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Virginia

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 50% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line (or top 5 inches).
Rear window Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Virginia

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 50% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tint Reflection in Virginia

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Virginia window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Virginia Window Tinting Laws

Virginia window tint rules and regulations

Virginia has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: Double-side mirrors are required in Virginia if any window is tinted.
Certificates: Film manufacturers don’t need to certify the film they sell in Virginia.
Restricted Colors: Yellow, Red, and amber window tints are not permitted.
Medical Exceptions: Virginia allows medical exemptions for special tint.
Stickers Yes (unspecified).
Tint Variance: A 7% variance in tint is allowed.
Penalties:  Class 3 misdemeanor for the first offense and Class 2 misdemeanor for subsequent offenses.

Remember that Virginia tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.  

Window Tint Violations in Virginia

In Virginia, the first window tinting in a car counts as a Class 3 misdemeanour, and you’ll be slapped with an offense of Class 2 in the event of subsequent violations about tints that are illegal in the exact vehicle. The Class 3 misdemeanor cannot come with a jail sentence but can result in financial penalties of up to $500.

An offense of the class 2 misdemeanor is the most serious of offenses and could result in six years in prison or fines of up to $ 1000 or, in the case of serious offenses, the two. Illegal window tints are not worth serious fines, so do not permit yourself to be fined for another window tinting violation within Virginia.

MPV Window Tint Laws in Virginia

Virginia state laws on MPV tints (the abbreviation for multi-purpose vehicles that refers to SUVs, trucks, vans, RVs, and so on) could include 50% or less tinting of the VLT on the front side windows.

They can have window tints of any dark (this includes privacy tints that block out blackout) and on the side windows on the rear and the rear windshield.

Like window tints for cars in Virginia, the window film used on larger vehicles could be as high as 20 percent reflective.

Car Window Tint Laws in Virginia

In Virginia, the state, automobiles (meaning passenger vehicles such as coupes and sedans) can be fitted with window tints rated at 50% VLT or lower on the side windows in front, which are the ones that face the driver’s and shotgun seats and also have tints to be as dark as 35%VLT the rear side windows and in the back windshield.

The tint of this window could be as high as 20% reflective (or reflective or mirrored) in appearance. Noting that reflective tint can make a difference in solar energy blockage.

Windshield Tint Rules in Virginia

In most states, the state of Virginia, a thin strip of tinted glass across at the edge of the windshield is allowed in Virginia. Vehicles, trucks, SUVs, and vans can all feature non-reflective window tint over the glass’s AS-1 limit or, if it isn’t obvious, as low as five inches lower than the highest point of glass. The window film helps to make driving safer as it reduces sun glare on your eyes. If there was no tint already installed in the factory, you must put it on.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Virginia Window Tint Laws

What is VA Code Window Tint?

46.2-1052 is VA Code Window Tint.

How Much Does a Virginia Window Tint Ticket Cost?

Virginia Window tint regulations are among the strictest in the U.S. If you’re found driving with a dark tint, you could face a fine of as much as $110.

Is Windshield Tint Legal in Virginia?

Yes, you can use tinted windshields in VA. However, there’s a rule that you have to follow to avoid any trouble. By Virginia windshield tint laws, a non-reflective tint can be used over the manufacturer’s AS-1 line (or the top five inches).

What is The Darkest Legal Tint in Virginia?

If you are a resident of Virginia and want your car to be a darker tint, the first thing to find out is the darkest legal tint in VA. The answer is 50% is the darkest legal tint available in Virginia for the windows that face the driver. You can choose any tint of darkness for your car’s rear and back windows.

Is 20% Tint Legal in Virginia?

Yes, you can use 20% tint in Virginia, but you must know some restrictions; you can use 20% tint only on your car’s backside & rear window.

Is 5% Tint Legal in Virginia?

Yes, you can use 5% tint in Virginia, but you must know some restrictions; you can use 5% tint only on the backside & rear window of your car.

Leave a Comment