South Carolina Window Tinting Laws: What You Need to Know [2023]

Car window tinting laws in South Carolina –  Are you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in South Carolina? 

If so, you must be aware of the state’s window tint laws. In South Carolina, there are various rules and restrictions on how dark your window tint can be, depending on the type of window.

In this article, we’ll break down the South Carolina window tint law so you know exactly what’s allowed and not. We’ll also discuss the potential consequences of getting your windows tinted illegally.

So whether you’re just curious about the law or ready to start shopping for a tint shop, read on for all the information you need about South Carolina window tinting laws.

Window tint darkness in South Carolina

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in South Carolina is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in South Carolina

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 27% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 27% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Rear window Must allow more than 27% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in South Carolina

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 27% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be applied several (unspecified) inches from the top of the window.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tint Reflection in South Carolina

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. South Carolina window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: Must be non reflective, state law is not specific about what this means.
Back Side windows: Must be non reflective, state law is not specific about what this means.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: Must be non reflective, state law is not specific about what this means.
Back Side windows: Must be non reflective, state law is not specific about what this means.

Window in Tinting Laws- South Carolina

South Carolina window tint rules and regulations

South Carolina has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required if the back window is tinted.
Certificates: Film manufacturers need to certify the film they sell in South Carolina. Check with your dealer if they are using certified film.
Restricted Colors: Tint colors red, amber, and yellow are not permitted by law.
Medical Exceptions: South Carolina allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more information about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law.
Stickers The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on each tinted window.
Penalties: Misdemeanor with a minimum $200 fine or 30 days in prison for each offense.

Remember that South Carolina tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.  

Window Tint Law Violations in South Carolina

The police in South Carolina view window tint violations as misdemeanors, and the fines are often high. SC Window tint charges are at least $200; window tint violations could be more costly. In the most extreme instances, authorities could penalize window tint violators from South Carolina to up to 30 days in prison.

Auto Window Tint Rules in South Carolina for MPVs

The front windows of SUVs, vans, or trucks in South Carolina must use the same standards for automobiles, with a tint that is not more than 27 percent VLT.

The rear side windows of MPVs are permitted to feature any type of window film as long as it does not extend all up to beyond the edge of the window. Even privacy tints that are blackout and don’t allow any view inside the vehicle is legal if there is a transparent strip on the top.

The rear windows (AKA the windshields in the back) can be tinted to any level of darkness per South Carolina rules without any upper strip required. MPV tint is not reflective as well.

Car Window Tint Laws in South Carolina

In the state of South Carolina, cars (meaning sedans as well as hatchbacks, coupes, and sedans) have distinct window tint regulations than larger vehicles (like SUVs, trucks, and vans, also collectively referred to as MPVs (which stands in the plural for Multi-Purpose Vehicles) So we’re breaking down the guidelines by type of vehicle.

Automobiles from South Carolina can have a window tint on the side windows as well as the rear that lets at minimum 27 percent or more of sunlight’s visible light into the vehicle. It’s more than the shade that is dark enough to provide privacy and reduce sun glare. However, this tint of 27% provides a view of the car from close, which is crucial for police officers who conduct traffic stops.

The 27% VLT window tint cannot reflect.

Legal Windshield Window Film in South Carolina

In most states, the guidelines for window tints for windshields that apply to South Carolina are easy to follow: you can apply a non-reflective tint up to the manufacturer’s AS-1 line, which is just a few inches below the point where the glass can meet the roof.

If you cannot identify where the AS-1 line is, you can apply five inches as a reference for the thickness of the tint strip. The same guidelines for tinting your windshield apply to all types of vehicles that are located in South Carolina.

It is important to note that most automobiles or trucks come with factory tint already installed on the windows, so it is not necessary to have this window film installed aftermarket. (If your vehicle does not come with factory tint, it is recommended to get non-reflective window film to cut the sun’s glare, decreasing eye strain and ensuring safer driving.)

Tint Law References:

FAQs South Carolina Window Tint Laws

What is the SC Code of Laws Window Tint?

SC Code of Laws Window Tint § 56-5-5015 (2012)

What is The Darkest Legal Tint in SC?

For passenger vehicles, 27 % tint is the darkest tint found in South Carolina. For vehicles with multiple purposes, the front windows also have 27% tint, the dark legal tint. You can apply any shade of tint on your multi-purpose vehicle’s rear and back windows.

Is 20 Tint Legal in SC?

Can 20 tint be legally used in South Carolina? Yes, you can make use of 20 percent tint legally in South Carolina, but 20 percent tint is only legal for the rear and back windows of your vehicle that is multi-purpose. 20% tint is not legal for passenger cars in South Carolina.

Is 15 Tint Legal in SC?

Is tint 15 legally legal? South Carolina, Yes, you can apply 5% tint to tint your vehicle in South Carolina, but 15 percent tint is allowed only for the rear and back windows of your multi-purpose vehicle. The tint of 15% is prohibited for use to tint passenger vehicle windows on the roads of South Carolina.

Is 5 Tint Legal in SC?

Can 5 tint be legally used within South Carolina, Yes, you can use the 5% tint within South Carolina, but 5% tint is only legal for your multi-purpose vehicle’s rear and back windows. The tint of 5% is prohibited for use to tint passenger automobiles within South Carolina.

Leave a Comment