Window Tinting Laws in Rhode Island: A Step-by-Step Guide [2023]

Car window tinting laws in Rhode IslandAre you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in Rhode Island?

If so, you must know the state’s window tinting laws. In Rhode Island, specific rules and regulations on the darkness of window tint are allowed.

This guide will explain the window tinting laws for each part of your car in Rhode Island. We’ll also discuss the penalties for violating these Window Tinting Laws in Rhode Island.

Window tint darkness in Rhode Island

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Rhode Island is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Rhode Island

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 70% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Rear window Must allow more than 70% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Rhode Island

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 70% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tint Reflection in Rhode Island

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Rhode Island window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: The law does not specify any reflection restrictions.
Back Side windows: The law does not specify any reflection restrictions.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: The law does not specify any reflection restrictions.
Back Side windows: The law does not specify any reflection restrictions.

Window Tinting Laws Rhode Island

Rhode Island window tint rules and regulations

Rhode Island has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: No restrictions.
Certificates: Film manufacturers are not required to certify the film they sell in Rhode Island.
Restricted Colors: All window tint colors are allowed.
Medical Exceptions: Rhode Island allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law.
Stickers No sticker to identify legal tinting is required by law.
Penalties Up to $250 per offense (§ 31-23.3-5).

Remember that Rhode Island tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.

Window Tint Violation Ticket Cost in Rhode Island

It is true that Rhode Island window tint tickets are merely misdemeanors and not crimes of a criminal nature. However, every Rhode Island window tint ticket could cost as much as $250. You could be slapped with severe fines, especially if authorities decide to give you several tickets in the course of one-stop or if you receive a series of violations without having your window tint that is illegally removed or removed.

Window Tint for MPVs in Rhode Island

Trucks, vans, or SUVs registered in Rhode Island may have front side windows tinted with a 70 % VLT rating required for all windows on cars. For the rear windows, which side windows behind the rows of the driver and cargo areas and the back of the windshield could be tinted in any shade and complete privacy tints that completely block the view of the vehicle?

Like automobiles, the tint of larger vehicles is rated at any reflectivity. This isn’t often the case since states have window reflection limits.

Window Tint for Cars in Rhode Island

The cars in Rhode Island can have window tinting rated at 70 percent VLT or less on all the side windows as well as in the back window (meaning that the windshield in the rear, that is to say). The 70% VLT tinting is not restricted to any specific reflectivity rules.

The 70% tint offers plenty of reflection and darkness to make your car appear more private and change the appearance of your car, bear in mind that you don’t require darkening tints to reap the advantages of window tints other than that added privacy.

Even the lightest, most transparent window tints will block 99% of UV light, which can cause cracking and fading of the interior, the dash and upholstery, decrease the amount of IR heat that enters the car, and decreases the reflection that can cause eyestrain and can make driving unsafe. Don’t think a darker tint is the best in Rhode Island.

Windshield Window Tint Law in Rhode Island

Like in many states, there is a similar situation in Rhode Island. Rhode Island cars and bigger vehicles (like trucks, vans, and SUVs, e.g., and are often referred to collectively with an abbreviation, MPVs) are subject to the same regulations regarding tinting laws for windshields.

The law allows tinting as low as the company’s AS-1 line, displayed in tiny numbers and letters directly on the glass. If you can’t find an AS-1 line, the tint must be a strip that is not more than five inches. Moreover, no tint on the windshield can be reflective.

Most cars have tinted windshields that are that is applied by the manufacturer; If your car does not have it, then you must consider this tinting because it helps reduce the amount of glare that you experience while driving, particularly during sunset and, at times, in the summer when the sun’s at a high angle.

In the case of the other film that you have on your vehicle is about reducing the sun’s reflections; however, it’s also about providing an aesthetic and privacy while also reducing the temperature inside and securing the interior from UV damage caused by light.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Rhode Island Window Tint Laws

How much does an RI window tint ticket cost?

RI window tint ticket can cost $250

What is the Darkest Legal Tint in Rhode Island?

70% is the darkest legal tint in Rhode Island. Also, you can use any tint darkness on your multi-purpose vehicles’ back & rear windows.

Is 35% Tint Legal in Rhode Island?

For multi-purpose vehicles’ back and rear windows, 35% tint is legal in Rhode Island.

Leave a Comment