The Ultimate Guide to Oregon Window Tint Laws [2023]

Car window tinting laws in Oregon –  Are you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in Oregon? If so, you must be aware of the state’s window tint laws.

In Oregon, there are various rules and restrictions on how dark your window tint can be, depending on the type of window. In this article, we’ll break down the Oregon window tint law so you know exactly what’s allowed and not.

We’ll also discuss the potential consequences of getting your windows tinted illegally. So whether you’re just curious about the law or ready to start shopping for a tint shop, read on for all the information you need about Oregon window tinting laws.

Window tint darkness in Oregon

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Oregon is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Oregon

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.
Rear window Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Oregon

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tint Reflection in Oregon

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Oregon window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 13% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 13% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 13% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 13% reflective.

Window Tint Laws in Oregon

Oregon window tint rules and regulations

Oregon has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: If any window behind the driver is tinted dual side mirrors are required.
Certificates: Tint installers must provide you with a certificate stating light transmittance and reflectance.
Restricted Colors: Gold, Red, yellow, amber, or black tint colors are not permitted by law.
Medical Exceptions: Oregon allows medical exemptions for darker tint.
Stickers No sticker to identify legal tinting is required by law.
Penalties: Class B traffic violation with a $360 fine.

Remember that Oregon tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.

Window Tint Violations in Oregon

Tickets for window tints in Oregon aren’t a criminal offense and are typically classified as a class B traffic infraction. However, the cost of Oregon window tint tickets could increase, particularly if you are ticketed multiple times without replacing your illegal tint.

As a single violation of window tint could result in a fine of $360, one offense can be a costly issue, and the penalty being more expensive than what you’d likely shell out to have a window that was tinted illegally retrofitted with the proper tint.

Stickers identifying legal window tint are not required in Oregon.

Oregon tint laws permit medical exemptions to certain tinting regulations and, therefore, if you require to tint your windows darker on the side windows of an MPV or the rear of your vehicle, speak to your physician about obtaining an exemption for darker window film.

The film can then be put in place once you have established that you’re eligible for medical tint exemption to safeguard your skin, eyes, and other purposes.

Oregon tint laws prohibit tint that is gold, amber, yellow, black, or red in color

Sellers, manufacturers, and installers of window films for automobiles in Oregon must officially film and certify the tint to comply with state laws. So talk to your tint vendor or installer experts and ensure the state of Oregon approves the tint they sell.

MPV Window Tint Laws in Oregon

Oregon law regarding tinting for MPVs (abbreviation for multi-purpose vehicles, which refers to sport utility vehicle vans, trucks, or any other.) could be 35% or less VLT tinting of the front side of windows. It may have tints of any dark (including total privacy tint that is blackout) on the rear side windows and the rear windshield. Similar to car window tints in Oregon, the tinting of larger vehicles could appear slightly reflective.

Car Window Tint Laws in Oregon

In Oregon, the state of Oregon, cars (meaning coupes and sedans, not bigger vehicles) may be fitted with window tints rated at 35 percent VLT or less on all the side windows and in the back windshield. The tint on the window could appear somewhat reflective (or mirror-like) to the eye.

(You might be able to legally obtain darker car window tints with an exemption for medical windows (see below for more details.)

Windshield Tint Rules in Oregon

Like in many states, some tinting for the windshield is permitted in Oregon. Vehicles, trucks, SUVs and vans, may apply non-reflective tint to the windshield up to 6 inches below the edge of the glass. The tinted strip can improve driving safety by reducing the glare of solar light in drivers’ eyes.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Oregon Window Tint Laws

How much does an Oregon window tint ticket cost?

Oregon window tint ticket can cost $360.

What is The Darkest Legal tint in Oregon?

35% tint is the darkest legal tint in Oregon.

Is 15 Tint Legal in Oregon?

For passenger vehicles, 15% tint is illegal in Oregon. You can use 15% tint on your multi-purpose vehicles’ rear and back windows.

Is 5 Tint Legal in Oregon?

For passenger vehicles, 5% tint is illegal in Oregon. You can use 5% tint on your multi-purpose vehicles’ back & rear windows.

Leave a Comment