The Ultimate Guide to Ohio Window Tinting Laws [2023]

Car window tinting laws in Ohio –  Are you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in Ohio? If so, you must be aware of the state’s window tint laws.

In Ohio, there are various rules and restrictions on how dark your window tint can be, depending on the type of window.

In this article, we’ll break down the Ohio window tint law so you know exactly what’s allowed and not. We’ll also discuss the potential consequences of getting your windows tinted illegally.

So whether you’re just curious about the law or ready to start shopping for a tint shop, read on for all the information you need about Ohio window tinting laws.

Window tint darkness in Ohio

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Ohio is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Ohio

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 50% of light in.
Back Side windows Any darkness can be used.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield.
Rear window Any darkness can be used.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Ohio

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 50% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Ohio Window Tinting Laws guide

Window Tint Reflection in Ohio

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Ohio window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: No reflectorized materials are permitted.
Back Side windows: No reflectorized materials are permitted.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: No reflectorized materials are permitted.
Back Side windows: No reflectorized materials are permitted.

Ohio window tint rules and regulations

Ohio has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: No restrictions.
Certificates: Manufacturers of film need to certify the film they sell in Ohio. Ask your dealer if they are using certified film.
Restricted Colors: No colors of tint are banned.
Medical Exceptions: Ohio laws make no mention of medical exemptions for special tint.
Stickers The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on each tinted window.
Penalties: Misdemeanor with around $120 fine.

Remember that Ohio tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.  

Window Tint Ticket Cost in Ohio

Infractions to window tints in Ohio aren’t serious, but the costs could add up. A typical ticket for window tint violations in Ohio is around $120 in fees and fines, classified as misdemeanors. They’re civil offenses that are not criminal. However, if you do not correct the illegal tints for which have previously been cited, the cost of your ticket could increase, and you could be charged with a more serious offense.

Window Tint Rules for Cars in Ohio

(Note that, unlike the tint regulations in many states where different laws on window films apply to cars, just as they do for larger automobiles, the same regulations apply to vehicles, trucks and even SUVs in Ohio.

Therefore, the guidelines for tints below are applicable to all kinds of private vehicles registered in the state and allow terms such as automobile, car, or vehicle to be utilized interchangeably.)

Cars registered in Ohio are permitted to have tinting on the front windows, which means that they are visible to the driver and shotgun passengers are rated as 50% VLT or lower. Its enough tint darkens the view of the vehicle while giving a clear view of the interior from a distance, as is essential for the security of law enforcement personnel during a traffic stop.

50VLT window tint blocks the glare and heats 50%, but you should know that thinner, clearer window tints can block 99.99% of UV light and also cut down on infrared warmth and reflections, so it is not necessary to buy a dark tint to reap the benefits of window film if the dark look of privacy tint is not your style.

Side windows in the rear, that is to say, all side windows that are located behind the driver’s seats, including windows in cargo areas, can be tinted at any level of darkness according to Ohio law, ranging from blackout tint, similar to what you would see on limousines.

The law applies to rear-view windshields for vehicles registered in Ohio that can be tinted to any shade.

Windshield Window Tint Rules for Ohio

Ohio is like most states about window tinting regulations for windshields. If these delimitations are evident, you are legally allowed to apply window tints on the top 5 inches of windshield glass in the area over the company’s AS-1 line.

In Ohio, the tint on your windshield is not reflective. Also, note that many new vehicles have the factory-applied tint for windshields approved by a car dealer based in Ohio, and you will not need to worry about the tint of your windshield in any way.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Ohio Window Tint Laws

What is The Darkest Legal Tint in Ohio?

For driver-side windows, 50% is the darkest legal tint in Ohio. You can use any tint darkness on the rear and back windows.

Is Window Tint a Primary Offense in Ohio?

Yes, violation of Ohio tint law is a primary offense.

Is Mirror Tint Legal in Ohio?

Ohio has no restrictions on mirror tint.

Can You Tint Your Front Windshield in Ohio?

Yes, you can tint your front windshield in Ohio, but the rule is non-reflective tint on the top 5 inches.

Is 20 Tint Legal in Ohio?

You can use 20% tint in Ohio, But only on your vehicles’ back & rear windows.

Is 5 Tint Legal in Ohio?

You can use 5% tint in Ohio, It’s legal.

Leave a Comment