North Dakota Window Tinting Laws in 2023: What You Need to Know

Car window tinting laws in North Dakota –  Are you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in North Dakota? If so, you must be aware of the state’s window tint laws.

In North Dakota, there are various rules and restrictions on how dark your window tint can be, depending on the type of window.

In this article, we’ll break down the North Dakota window tint law so you know exactly what’s allowed and not. We’ll also discuss the potential consequences of getting your windows tinted illegally.

So whether you’re just curious about the law or ready to start shopping for a tint shop, read on for all the information you need about North Dakota window tinting laws.

Window tint darkness in North Dakota

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in North Dakota is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in North Dakota

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 50% of light in.
Back Side windows Any darkness can be used.
Windshield Must allow more than 70% of light in.
Rear window Any darkness can be used.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in North Dakota

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 50% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tint Reflection in North Dakota

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. North Dakota window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Window Tinting Laws in North Dakota

North Dakota window tint rules and regulations

North Dakota has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: Double-side mirrors are required in North Dakota if any window behind the driver is tinted.
Certificates: Film manufacturers don’t need to certify the film they sell in this state.
Restricted Colors: There are no specific tint colors restricted from usage.
Medical Exceptions: North Dakota no longer allows medical exemptions for window tint.
Stickers A sticker to identify legal tinting is not required.

Remember that North Dakota tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.  

Window Tint Ticket Cost in North Dakota

Infractions to window tint laws within North Dakota are not serious concerns. In the spring of 2019, North Dakota statutes section 39-21-39(4) declared illegal tint a violation of the law that comes with a fine of just $20 per violation.

So even if a police officer were to issue the window tint ticket to six windows in a typical car, the cost would be only $120, and most of the time, only one ticket is issued.

The second and subsequent offenses related to the same unresolved window tinting may result in higher costs, but the overall penalties for illegally tinting illegally within North Dakota are minimal.

Special Tint Rules and Regulations in North Dakota

According to current North Dakota tint laws, all tint colors are legal since no colors are specifically prohibited. But, you can’t apply window tints with metallic or mirror-like finishes, and certain shades of window films could be illegal if they feature reflective finishes, including metallic appearance tints like copper, gold, silver, and similar tints.

If the rear window or any side windows located behind the driver’s row feature tint added to them, then dual side mirrors are required on the vehicle.

The sellers and manufacturers of window tints are not required to verify that the window films they offer customers in North Dakota meet state laws. However, you must talk to your tint dealer or installer and ensure you’re buying window tint that isn’t likely to violate the state’s law and result in the issuance of a window tint violation.

The illegal tint can be spotted using devices used by inspectors and police. Car owners don’t need to apply stickers to their cars to show that the tints are legal.

North Dakota formerly allowed some exemptions from window tint laws, which allowed to tint the windows darker. However, these exemptions are no longer available. The state’s tint laws allow that most medical issues, like skin conditions or light sensitivities, can be treated with tints permitted under the current laws.

Window Tint Rules for Cars in North Dakota

Cars registered within North Dakota may have window tinting on the forward windows rated at 50% VLT or less. This is enough tinting that will add some privacy and still permit an open view of the cabin from a distance which is crucial for law enforcement personnel to have when conducting traffic stops.

50% VLT tint helps reduce sun glare and heat. However, transparent and lighter window films block 99% of UV light. They also cut down on visible light and infrared glare. So, do not purchase the darkest tint to enjoy the benefits of Windows films.

Rear side windows, which means the windows on the sides of rows between the driver’s and shotgun seat, including those in cargo areas, could be tinted at any level of darkness per the current North Dakota law, including blackout tint.

This tinting law also applies to the rear window (AKA back windshields) for cars registered within North Dakota.

Windshield Window Tint Rules for North Dakota

North Dakota is among only a few states where window tints are permitted for the entire windshield. Most states permit tint on only the upper five to six inches of glass (above the AS-1 line of the windshield). In North Dakota, you may apply tint not darker over 70% VLT on all windshields.

(For example, the greater the VLT value is, the clearer and better you can see the glass from outside. Therefore, 95% VLT will be anything but clear, whereas the remaining 5% is completely blocked out.) The 70% VLT tint will significantly reduce the solar glare and the heat inside, resulting in a more than 99% reduction in UV.

Tint Law References:

FAQs North Dakota Window Tint Laws

What does VLT mean according to North Dakota state law?

The VLT (called Visible Light Transmission) indicates the visible light entering the car’s windows. If you have a VLT decreases, the tint of the windows gets darker. Higher VLT signifies that more sunlight can penetrate the windows without issue. For example, if you apply 75% tint on your glass, 75% of the light will pass through the glass. If the tint is only 5% and your vehicle’s interior will appear darker! In addition, we have extensive information about VLT and Windows tint percent to assist you. It is worth a look in case you want to know the different tint levels.

Can I get a ticket for having too dark of window tint in North Dakota?

Yes, you could get ticketed for having dark window tints within North Dakota. The penalty for unintentionally tinted windows will be $25 on the initial offense 50 dollars for the second offense, and $100 for the third and subsequent violations.

How do I know if my window tint is legal in North Dakota?

You can utilize an instrument to measure the intensity of the tint on your windows. The tint meter can tell you how much light can be permitted to enter through the window tint. If your window tint lets only less than 75% light through, it’s prohibited to use in North Dakota.

How much does window tint cost in North Dakota?

The price of tinting your windows can vary based on the kind of tint film you pick, as well as the dimensions of your window. You can anticipate spending between $100 and $500 for the full-on car tint.

Leave a Comment