New Mexico Window Tint Laws: The Ultimate Guide [2023]

Car window tinting laws in New Mexico –  Are you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in New Mexico? If so, you must be aware of the state’s window tint laws.

In New Mexico, there are various rules and restrictions on how dark your window tint can be, depending on the type of window.

In this article, we’ll break down the New Mexico window tint law so you know exactly what’s allowed and not.  We’ll also discuss the potential consequences of getting your windows tinted illegally.

So whether you’re just curious about the law or ready to start shopping for a tint shop, read on for all the information you need about New Mexico window tinting laws.

Window tint darkness in New Mexico

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in New Mexico is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in New Mexico

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 20% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 20% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or top 5 inches is allowed.
Rear window Must allow more than 20% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in New Mexico

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 20% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or top 5 inches is allowed.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tint Reflection in New Mexico

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. New Mexico window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: No reflection permitted.
Back Side windows: No reflection permitted.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: No reflection permitted.
Back Side windows: No reflection permitted.

New Mexico Window Tint Laws

New Mexico window tint rules and regulations

New Mexico has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: Double side mirrors are required if any side or back windows are tinted.
Certificates: Manufacturers of film need to certify the film they sell in the state. Ask your dealer if they are using certified film.
Restricted Colors: Amber, Red and yellow colors are not permitted.
Medical Exceptions: New Mexico allows medical exemptions for special tint.
Stickers The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on every tinted window.
Tint Variance: Petty misdemeanor with up to $75 fine.

Remember that New Mexico tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.

Window Tint Violations in New Mexico

Window tint tickets are not serious in New Mexico, but they can be expensive if you get cited more than once without having your illegal tint removed. Window tint tickets in New Mexico can cost up to $75. They are assessed as petty, civil offenses that do not carry criminal charges or jail time.

MPV Window Tint Laws in New Mexico

New Mexico tint laws for MPVs (meaning multi-purpose vehicles like sport utility vehicles, trucks, vans, passenger vans, etc.) The front side windows can be tinted with a lighter VLT of up to 20%, and the rear side and back windshields can be tinted in any shade, including privacy tint. In New Mexico, the tint on larger vehicles cannot be metallic or reflective.

Car Window Tint Laws in New Mexico

New Mexico allows cars (i.e., sedans and coupes) to have a window tint of 20% VLT on all side windows and the rear windshield or less. The window tint can be reflective or mirror-like.

Windshield Tint Rules in New Mexico

New Mexico allows limited windshield tinting, as in many other states. Non-reflective window film can be applied to windshields of cars, trucks, SUVs and vans up to the AS-1 factory line. This is indicated by small letters and numbers on the glass. If there is no AS-1 mark visible, the tint can be applied to the windshield up to five inches beneath the top.

Tint Law References:

FAQs New Mexico Window Tint Laws

How much does a New Mexico window tint ticket cost?

A New Mexico window tint ticket can cost $75.

Can You Tint Your Front Windshield in New Mexico?

Yes, you can tint your front windshield in New Mexico. But the rule is a Non-reflective tint above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or top 5 inches.

What is The Darkest Legal Tint in New Mexico?

20% is the legal darkest tint for passenger vehicles.

Is 5 Tint Legal in New Mexico?

For passenger vehicles, 5% tint is illegal in New Mexico. But there are some rules and restrictions for multi-purpose vehicles; you can use 5% tint on your multi-purpose vehicles’ back and rear windows.

Leave a Comment