New Jersey Window Tint Laws Explained [2023]

Car window tinting laws in New JerseyAre you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in New Jersey?

If so, you must know the state’s window tinting laws. In New Jersey, specific rules and regulations on the darkness of window tint are allowed.

This guide will explain the window tinting laws for each part of your car in New Jersey. We’ll also discuss the penalties for violating these Window Tinting Laws in New Jersey.

Window tint darkness in New Jersey

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in New Jersey is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in New Jersey

Front Side windows: No tint can be applied legally to this window.
Back Side windows Any darkness can be applied.
Windshield No tint is allowed on the windshield.
Rear window Any darkness can be applied.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in New Jersey

Front Side windows:  No tint can be applied legally to this window.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: No tint is allowed on the windshield.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tint Reflection in New Jersey

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. New Jersey window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.
Back Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.
Back Side windows: No mirrored or metallic appearance.

Window Tint Laws in New Jersey

New Jersey window tint rules and regulations

New Jersey has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required if the back window is tinted.
Certificates: Film manufacturers don’t need to certify the film they sell in this state.
Restricted Colors: No colors of tint are explicitly banned by New Jersey law.
Medical Exceptions: New Jersey allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more information about the specific terms of the exemption, consult New Jersey law.
Stickers Stickers to identify legal tinting are not required.
Penalties:  Maximum $1,000 fine for first offense, and $5,000 for second or subsequent offenses (NJ Statutes 39:3-75.3)

Remember that New Jersey tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.  

New Jersey Window Tint Violations

The fines for violating New Jersey’s auto tint laws can be very high. New Jersey tint laws can lead to fines of up to $1000 for windshield tints, reflective window films, and other violations.

A second ticket for window tint could cost you as much as $5000. If you do not remove your illegal window film as soon as possible after receiving a window tint ticket, you could end up paying $6000 and incurring additional costs.

New Jersey’s laws are very permissive, making it easy to avoid window tint tickets. Do not risk your safety by applying a window film that is illegal or to the windshield unless you can prove that there are legitimate exemptions.

Window Tint Rules in New Jersey

All vehicles (sedans, SUVs, and trucks) have side and rear windows, which are the rear windshields. New Jersey allows tinting of all side and rear windows (meaning rear windshields) for any vehicle type.

New Jersey’s tint laws allow all window tint colors, even those illegal in other states. This includes red, amber, and yellow tints. New Jersey does not allow reflective, metallic, or mirrored tints. This means some tint colors may be illegal because of their reflective appearance.

New Jersey’s window film laws allow for a wide range of tint colors and dark ratings, making them one of the most permissive in America.

Windshield Window Tint Laws in New Jersey

New Jersey has made it illegal to tint the windows of windshields. New Jersey does not allow window tint, even if the manufacturer installs it. This may include the AS-1 line that marks the legal limit for windshield tint. You should check with a DMV official or a window tint installer to ensure your car’s tint is legal in New Jersey. Inspectors or police can easily detect illegal tint, which may result in a hefty fine.

Other Window Tint Regulations in New Jersey

New Jersey’s window tint law is generally quite lax. No color of tint is expressly prohibited. When tinting rear windows, dual side mirrors must be used. This is required in most states.

New Jersey does not require certification for manufacturers, sellers, or installers of tinted auto windows. Nor are motorists required to place stickers on their tinted windows indicating that it is legal.

New Jersey allows some medical exemptions from window tint laws. If you need to tint your windshield because of an eye or skin condition, speak to a doctor about obtaining a dispensation. The dark tint allowed on other windows will address most medical concerns.

Tint Law References:

FAQs New Jersey Window Tint Laws

How to Get Medical Exemption for Window Tint in New Jersey?

This New Jersey window tint exemption form is easy to obtain. To get the form, you must visit your doctor to obtain a note stating that this dark tint is needed for medical reasons. Take the note to your local motor vehicles office. They will give you an exemption sticker that you can put on your vehicle.

What Is VLT?

Visible Light Transmission is an acronym. The VLT is the percentage of light that passes through tinted windows. The lighter the tint, the higher the VLT. A lower VLT allows less light through the tint, while a higher one allows more. If the tint is 30%, it does not mean that it is very dark. However, if it’s 5%, it is extremely dark. New Jersey specifies different VLT percentages for the front and rear windows. New Jersey does not specify the tinting allowed for the back or rear windows.

Do I need to have a side mirror in New Jersey?

If the back window is tinted then it is necessary to have dual side mirrors. 

What are the Window Tint Certification rules in New Jersey?

The tint film manufacturers do not have to certify the film they sell in New Jersey.

Leave a Comment