Mississippi Window Tint Laws: What You Need to Know [2023]

Car window tinting laws in MississippiAre you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in Mississippi?

If so, you must know the state’s window tinting laws. In Mississippi, specific rules and regulations on the darkness of window tint are allowed.

This guide will explain the window tinting laws for each part of your car in Mississippi. We’ll also discuss the penalties for violating these Window Tinting Laws in Mississippi.

Window tint darkness in Mississippi

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Mississippi is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Mississippi

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 28% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 28% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Rear window Must allow more than 28% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Mississippi

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 28% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tint Reflection in Mississippi

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Mississippi window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Mississippi Window Tint Laws

Mississippi window tint rules and regulations

Mississippi has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: No restrictions.
Certificates: Manufacturers of film need to certify the film they sell in the state. Check with your dealer to confirm they are using certified film.
Restricted Colors: You can use all tint colors.
Medical Exceptions: Mississippi permits medical exemptions for special tint.
Stickers A sticker certifying that all windows have a light transmittance of 28% or more must be on the windshield.
Penalties:  Fine up to $1000, or imprisonment in county jail up to 3 months, or both.

Remember that Mississippi tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.

Mississippi Window Tint Violation Penalties

Although most window tint laws on automobiles in Mississippi are pretty permissive, violations of window tints could be accompanied by surprisingly severe sanctions if the authorities choose to make maximums.

A ticket for window tint violations can be as high as 1,000 a violation (usually for the second or third time or a fourth violation) and could lead to 3 months or more in prison or a jail sentence as well as a financial fine.

It’s unnecessary to risk paying a severe window tinting penalty in Mississippi, mainly due to the darkness of tints that can legally be and the variety of tints allowed.

Make sure to consult an expert in window tints when you’re concerned that your tint isn’t legal to avoid violating Mississippi tint laws and run the risk of the worst consequences.

Auto Window Tint Rules and Exemptions in Mississippi

A lot is Mississippi window tint laws are relatively permissive, as you can choose any tint color you want with a reflectivity of 20% permitted. There are no side-view mirror conditions. It is also possible to apply for medical exemptions from Mississippi window tint law if you believe that you require a tint darker than the one allowed (such as for skin or eye health concerns).

Window tints in Mississippi must be able to certify the tint they provide in Mississippi to be legal, so make sure that the dealer or installer has completed this. It is also required to be able to apply stickers on the front of any vehicle with a tint that demonstrates at least 28% of the higher VLT of all windows for vehicles and on forward side windows on larger vehicles, and the sticker should be visible from the outside of the car.

Van, SUV, and Truck Window Tint Laws in Mississippi

According to Mississippi windows film law, similar guidelines apply to the windshields as well as the front windows of larger vehicles as they apply for cars which are non-reflective tints down into the AS-1 line for windshields and a maximum reflectivity of percent VLT or more excellent on side windows facing forward.

But, the windows in the rear (of any row behind the row of the driver) and the rear windshield of a van, truck, or SUV can be tinted with any dark tint, including full privacy limo tint. The tint should be at most 20 percent reflective. It is important to note that although it’s a regular requirement, dual mirrors on the side are not necessary when rear window tints are used in Mississippi.

Mississippi Car Tint Laws

In Mississippi, like most states, the tint of windshields can be used up to the manufacturer’s AS-1 line, which is outlined with small letters on the windshield’s glass. The tinting of the windshield has to be clear and not reflective. If an AS-1 line is not visible and you want to stay within the legal limits, it’s best not to tint to five inches or less from that top layer of the windshield.

Side and rear windows for cars (meaning the windshield in the rear) are all subject to the same tint guidelines in Mississippi Car windows can be tinted to 28% VLT, which is a dark tint that is permitted in a majority of states and enough to provide privacy and improve the solar energy reduction capabilities of the tint of your window. Be aware that lighter windows film – and even clear tints – can reduce infrared radiation and help keep the car cool.

It can also block 99% of sunlight’s UV light, preventing the effects of the sun on your cabin, such as damaged dashboards, faded upholstery, and cracks; therefore, you should not go for a darker tint if you are more concerned with the energy of solar and the reduction of damage rather than the style or privacy of your vehicle. Be aware that car tint in Mississippi must not exceed 20 percent reflective.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Mississippi Window Tint Laws

Is Front Windshield Tint Legal in Mississippi?

Yes, tinting for the front of your windshield is allowed in Mississippi. You can only use the non-reflective tint permitted over the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.

What is The Darkest Legal Tint in Mississippi?

28% tint is the darkest legal tint in Mississippi. You can use any tint darkness for multi-purpose vehicles’ back & rear windows.

Is 20 Tint Legal in Mississippi?

Mississippi is a state in the United States. Mississippi has flexible tint laws, which allow motorists to put up to 20 tints on the windows of their vehicles. This is an excellent benefit for those looking to make their car windows darker for privacy or to limit the amount of light entering the vehicle. However, there are a few limitations. The front windshield can’t be tinted at all, and the rear window must be tinted with 15 percent. Additionally, the side windows must allow more than 70 percent light transmission. If you’re trying to find an option to dim your windows above the 20 percent limit, you’ll need to seek permission from the government.

Is 15 Percent Tint Legal in Mississippi?

For passengers, tints of 15 percent are illegal in Mississippi. You can apply a 15% tint on the multi-purpose vehicle’s rear and back windows.

Is 5 Tint Legal in Mississippi?

In Mississippi states, front windows can be tinted as high as 28% light transmittance, and back windows are tinted to up to 20 percent light transmission. There is no mention of how light or dark a film is, and 5 percent tints are likely to be legal. However, it’s recommended to consult the local law enforcement agency to verify.

Leave a Comment