How to Stay Compliant with Massachusetts Window Tint Laws

Car window tinting laws in MassachusettsAre you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in Massachusetts?

If so, you must know the state’s window tinting laws. In Massachusetts, specific rules and regulations on the darkness of window tint are allowed.

This guide will explain the window tinting laws for each part of your car in Massachusetts. We’ll also discuss the penalties for violating these Window Tinting Laws in Massachusetts.

Window tint darkness in Massachusetts

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Massachusetts is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Massachusetts

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed on the AS-1 line or the top 6 inches of the windshield.
Rear window Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Massachusetts

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Back Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the AS-1 line or the top 6 inches of the windshield.
Rear window: Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Window Tint Reflection in Massachusetts

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Massachusetts window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.

Window Tint Laws Massachusetts

Massachusetts window tint rules and regulations

Massachusetts has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required if the back window is tinted.
Certificates: Film manufacturers are not needed to certify the film they sell in the state.
Restricted Colors: In Massachusetts, no specific auto-tint colors are prohibited from use.
Medical Exceptions: Massachusetts does permit medical exemptions for special tint. For more information about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law.
Stickers State law advises but does not require stickers to identify legal tinting.
Penalties:  Up to $250 fine. Third or subsequent convictions will result in a 90-day driver’s license suspension.

Remember that Massachusetts tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.  

Benefits of Window Tint for Vehicles

Many people view window tints for cars solely concerned with privacy for the car and, in fewer instances, enhancing the vehicle’s look. In reality, automotive window tint is more about performance and not just appearance, and it is possible to get most of the performance benefits by using transparent or almost clear tint; therefore, don’t be afraid to apply windows if you aren’t happy with the darker appearance.

Window tints for cars stop cracks and fade in the interior due to UV radiation keeping the appearance and value of the car and blocking a lot of the sun’s intense infrared light, making the cabin cool and resulting in less battery and fuel consumption to operate the AC. Clear tint reduces glare, making driving more secure.

Massachusetts Window Tint Restrictions and Exemptions

Massachusetts State tint law allows medical exemptions from the 35% VLT dark limit. Therefore, when you feel that you need more shade to limit the sun’s rays that could cause eye health issues, skin problems and trigger migraines and other illnesses, consult an eye doctor to obtain evidence of eligibility for a window film exemption.

With a physician’s note, you can request a dark tint from the installer and avoid ticketing for the otherwise illegal window film. Manufacturers, installers, and retailers of window tints in Massachusetts are not required to officially recognize the tints they sell as complying with state law.

Motorists are also not required to attach stickers that prove the legality of the tint on their automobiles; however, officials recommend this last step to reduce any potential problems when conducting traffic inspections or stops.

Two side mirrors are required by MA tint laws when the rear windshield has tint or obstructions that block the view. A Massachusetts windows tint violation could cost as high as $250. In the most extreme instances, officers may be able to issue several window tint violations in a row, which means the cost can mount up quickly.

If you are convicted of the third violation of window tints on your record, your license could be removed for up to 90 days, so you should not take on the fines associated with unlawful window tints in Massachusetts.

Side and Rear Window Tint Laws for Cars in Massachusetts

The guidelines for window tints for vehicles, trucks, SUVs, cars, and different types of vehicles in Massachusetts are surprisingly simple to grasp in regards to the rear and side windows (the latter refers to the back windshield, to be precise) The windows of all types can be tinted to a maximum that is 35% VLT which means they have to allow at least 35% of sunlight’s visible light pass through.

35% VLT window tint is far darker than enough to provide privacy and elegance to your vehicle. The darker tints only increase the practical benefits of window tints, which will be explained later. Be aware that in addition to having a 35% VLT rating, window tints on the rear and side windows must have a maximum of three-quarters reflective therefore, the film could be subtle, mirrored, and metallic.

Although many states allow darker tints for back and side windows in Massachusetts, the law on tint is a minimum consistent and straightforward to comprehend (also, it allows more reflection than other states) and is very permissive with regards to window tint colours since currently, all shades of window tint are permitted in Massachusetts. (Most states prohibit red amber, yellow, and red tints, whereas a few restrict gold, silver, and metallic window films.)

Front Windshield Tint Laws in Massachusetts

Many cars come with factory tints for windows, which are placed in an edging on the windshield. If your vehicle has factory-installed tint for the windshield, you can be sure to comply with Massachusetts tint laws. You can be used to minimize sun glare which could cause blindness and make driving risky, especially after sunrise and just before sunset, when the sun’s angle is at its most extreme.

However, if your car doesn’t have window tint on its windshield, it is a crucial safety improvement that will also enhance your driving experience by lessening the need to stare at the sun’s glare.

Suppose you have tint applied to your windshield by an aftermarket vendor in Massachusetts. In that case, the law states that the tint cannot be lower than the AS-1 line (small numerals and letters mark these lines on your windshield) or up to six inches lower than the edge of the windshield or six inches, whichever is greater.

(For an easy reference for quick reference, it is essential to note that the AS-1 line is roughly equivalent to the point at which the shades fold inside your car.)

The tint of the front windshield in MA is not reflective; this applies to nearly all states since reflective tints on windshields can create a reflection that can block the view of other motorists.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Massachusetts Window Tint Laws

What is The Darkest Legal Tint in Massachusetts?

35% is the darkest legal tint in Massachusetts.

Is 20 Tint Legal in Massachusetts?

No, 20% tint is not legal in Massachusetts. But you can use a 20% tint on the top six-inch windshield.

Is 5 Tint Legal in Massachusetts?

No, a 5% tint is not legal in Massachusetts. But you can use a 5% tint on the top six-inch windshield.

Leave a Comment