The Ultimate Guide to Maine Window Tinting Laws [2023]

Car window tinting laws in Maine –  Are you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in Maine? If so, you must be aware of the state’s window tint laws.

In Maine, there are various rules and restrictions on how dark your window tint can be, depending on the type of window. In this article, we’ll break down the Maine window tint law so you know exactly what’s allowed and not.

We’ll also discuss the potential consequences of getting your windows tinted illegally. So whether you’re just curious about the law or ready to start shopping for a tint shop, read on for all the information you need about Maine window tinting laws.

Window tint darkness in Maine

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Maine is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Maine

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 35% of light in; no restrictions on vehicles with outside rearview mirrors on each side.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed above the AS-1 line or the top 5 inches of the windshield.
Rear window Must allow more than 35% of light in; no restrictions on vehicles with outside rearview mirrors on each side.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Maine

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above AS-1 line or top 5 inches of the windshield.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tinting Laws Maine

Window Tint Reflection in Maine

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Maine window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: No reflective materials are allowed.
Back Side windows: No reflective materials are allowed.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: No reflective materials are allowed.
Back Side windows: No reflective materials are allowed.

Maine window tint rules and regulations

Maine has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: Double-side mirrors are required if the back window is tinted.
Certificates: Manufacturers of the film must certify the film they sell in the state. Ask your dealer if they are using certified film.
Restricted Colors: No specific tint colors are against the law.
Medical Exceptions: Maine law does allow medical exemptions. The Chief of the State Police may grant a certificate of exemption in case of certain medical conditions.
Stickers No sticker to identify legal tinting is required.
Penalties: Traffic infraction with a minimum $100 fine.

Remember that Maine tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.

Window Tint Violation Penalties in Maine

In Maine care, window tint violations are subject to a minimum fine of $100. Fines could be hefty, mainly when an official imposes a penalty on each window tinted illegally in an automobile.

The price of a tinting ticket in Maine could quickly exceed the cost of having legally tinted windows. It’s, therefore, an excellent option to stay clear of illegal tint at the beginning.

Auto Window Tint Law Specifications in Maine

Maine first passed the auto tint law in 1989, and over the following years, the rules have been changed numerous times, and they will be changed again when new tinting options and products become popular. Therefore, you should check Maine tint laws frequently to ensure you comply with them.

Be aware that if you’ve got any tinting applied to the rear windows, your vehicle should have side-view mirrors on both sides of the car, which are in good condition. For clarity, the reflective tint must be applied to all windows in all kinds of vehicles.

Maine laws on tints are very permissive in regard to tinting color. Still, the tints of windows are prohibited in Maine law at the moment it is, which means that the yellow, red, and amber tints, which are illegal in many states, are permitted on cars registered in Maine.

According to Maine law, medical exemptions for window tints are granted. Contact the Chief’s office of the State Police of Maine to apply for a medical tint exemption if you require an even darker shade than what is legal to safeguard your skin from sun damage to the eyes, skin, or for any other reason. Keep a copy of a medical tint exemption in your vehicle in case of a confrontation with police officers.

Although Maine laws on tints require window tint manufacturers to verify that the tint they provide in Maine conforms to the regulations, drivers aren’t required to wear stickers that prove the tint meets Maine standards and therefore double-check ahead of the application to ensure that the installer or manufacturer of the window film you are using has approved tint to be used in Maine.

Maine Window Tint Laws for SUVs, Trucks, and Vans

As mentioned, Maine windshield tint laws for vans, trucks, and SUVs are the same for cars, with a reflective tint of 35% VLT allowed below the AS-1 line. However, for other windows, the laws vary based on the window’s location.

The front side windows of trucks, SUVs, and vans within Maine are restricted by the non-reflective 35% VLT or a lighter tint than cars, but the rules for windows in the rear are more flexible.

Side windows in the rear, that is, those that are behind the driver as well as the shotgun seat of the passenger, can be tinted with whatever level of darkness you want, including all the way to complete privacy tints that block out light, like you the ones you see on limousines or any other livery vehicles.

The tint isn’t able to be metallic or reflective. However, it can give a stylish, dark appearance and block out the view while cutting down on cabin heat and almost wholly blocking sunlight.

The window in the rear (or the rear windshield) can also be tinted in any shade, with only non-mirrored, non-metallic tints permitted. The dark tints that are permitted on the majority of vehicles’ windows are perfect for families who want privacy for their children as well as for livery firms as well as to block the view of all items within the car from being observed by others while it is being parked.

Car Window Tint Laws in Maine

The state of Maine window tinting laws for cars stipulate that the front of the windshield may be tinted down towards the AS-1 line, which is a piece of glass at where the glass is located that is marked by tiny letters and numbers (literally that reads “AS-1” or a variant of the alphanumeric code like “AS1”) that are visible on the edges of the glass close to the tops on the side of your windshield. If you cannot find this AS-1 line, use five inches as a reference and only apply non-reflective tinting of 35% or lower on the windshield.

Be aware that the same windshield window tinting laws apply to automobiles as to larger vehicles in Maine.

The other windows in automobiles in Maine must adhere to similar tint rules, which stipulate that tints that are not darker than 35 percent visible light transmission have to be sprayed on the glass. The same applies to the front and rear side windows and the rear window.

All of them are required to be at least 35 percent VLT or lower. This is a tint sufficient to provide some privacy (and enhance your car’s styling). Also, note that the lighter (and visually apparent) window film can block 99% of UV rays that harm the sun and reduce heat from infrared radiation, making the tint efficient by all performance measures.

Only non-reflective tints are allowed in Maine currently.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Maine Window Tint Laws

How much does a Maine Window Tint Ticket Cost?

Maine tint ticket costs around $100.

What is the Darkest Legal Tint in Maine?

35% is the darkest legal tint according to Maine window tinting laws.

Is 20% Tint Legal in Maine?

You can use a 20% tint on your multi-purpose vehicles’ rear and back windows. For passenger vehicles, 20% tint is illegal.

Is 5% Tint Legal in Maine?

Use a 5% tint on your multi-purpose vehicles’ back and rear windows. For passenger vehicles, 5% tint is illegal.

Leave a Comment