Louisiana Window Tinting Laws – A Step-by-Step Guide [2023]

Car window tinting laws in Louisiana –  Are you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in Louisiana? If so, you must be aware of the state’s window tint laws.

In Louisiana, there are various rules and restrictions on how dark your window tint can be, depending on the type of window.

In this article, we’ll break down the Louisiana window tint law so you know exactly what’s allowed and not. We’ll also discuss the potential consequences of getting your windows tinted illegally.

So whether you’re just curious about the law or ready to start shopping for a tint shop, read on for all the information you need about Louisiana window tinting laws.

Window tint darkness in Louisiana

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Louisiana is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Louisiana

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 40% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 25% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or top 5 inches.
Rear window Must allow more than 12% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Louisiana

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 40% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or top 5 inches.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tint Reflection in Louisiana

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Louisiana window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Window Tinting Laws Louisiana

Louisiana window tint rules and regulations

Louisiana has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: No restrictions.
Certificates: Manufacturers of the film must certify the film they sell in the state. Ask your dealer if they are using certified film.
Restricted Colors: Red or amber are not permitted.
Medical Exceptions: Louisiana law does NOT allow any medical exemptions that would allow you to use special tint.
Stickers The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the glass and film on the driver’s side window.
Penalties: $150 for a first offense, $250 for a second offense, and $350 for subsequent offenses.

Remember that Louisiana tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.

Window Tint Violations in Louisiana

Window tint, illegal in Louisiana, is a civil offense that is not a criminal offense. However, the consequences can nonetheless be severe. First offenses will result in an infringement charge of $150. A second violation for illegal window tinting in Louisiana is $250. A third offense is a fine of $350 for any subsequent violations, too.

At this rate, one or two tickets for window tint can cost more than installing legal tints on your vehicle. Since officers can use the portable device to monitor the transmission of light at any point so, don’t believe that you’ll be able to get away with illegal tint until the time for inspection, and your window tint could be a problem anytime, regardless of whether you’re pulled over for a different reason.

Louisiana Window Tint Restrictions and Exemptions

Window tint laws were first enacted in Louisiana in 1993. They have been modified numerous times since their first introduction into place. Therefore, it’s an excellent idea to keep track of the rules regularly to time to ensure that your tint is in compliance and also to be sure that the tint you’re considering is legal.

There aren’t any rules about side view mirrors if windows are tinted in Louisiana; however, generally speaking, it’s important to ensure you have working side view mirrors in case you reduce the visibility through the rear windows.

While the majority of tints for windows are permissible by Louisiana State law, laws do not allow the shades of amber and red to tint. Installers and manufacturers who work with window tint for cars in Louisiana must verify that the tint they sell is approved in the state. In addition, they must display the sticker that certifies your vehicle’s windows as legally tinted on top of the film used for the window and the glass in the front driver’s window.

Louisiana state law doesn’t allow any medical exceptions for darker tints of windows. However, the 40% VLT permitted tint is sufficient to alleviate the irritation to the eyes or skin of people who are sensitive to sunlight.

Window Tint for Trucks, Vans, and SUVs in Louisiana

Like cars, the front windows of trucks, vans or SUVs within Louisiana can be tinted to a dark 40% VLT. However, there’s more room in the rear windows.

Larger cars may have a rear window tinted to any shade and with the back windshield. This provides absolute privacy and is a great option for livery firms, those concerned about privacy for their families, or simply because it offers a wide range of individualization for the vehicle’s appearance.

However, this leniency does not extend to reflectivity: the windows of any vehicle licensed in Louisiana can be greater than 20% reflective.

Window Tint for Cars in Louisiana

In most states In Louisiana, automobiles have different tint limitations than larger vehicles such as trucks, vans and SUVs. Therefore, we’ll talk in separate ways about automobiles (sedans, coupes, sedans, and hatchbacks that aren’t SUVs).

Also, since each window on an automobile will be governed by distinct window tint regulations, let’s look at each one in turn in addition. Louisiana windows tinting laws permit tints as light as 40 percent VLT for front windows, with a reflectivity of less than 20%.

The windows on the rear of a car can be tinted to 25% darkness, which provides privacy from unwanted views from any distance but does not completely block out the view. In Louisiana, the rear window, also known as the rear windshield, may be tinted to very dark 12% VLT or higher.

Windshield Window Tint Laws in Louisiana

The rules regarding tinting the windows of windshields in Louisiana are identical for all kinds of privately owned vehicles; therefore, cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs can all make use of this as a guideline: The law permits window tints that are not reflective to be placed over that windshield’s AS-1 line which is a manufacturer-defined strip of glass that is located near on the top edge of the glass. If there isn’t an AS-1 strip evident, use five inches for an example.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Louisiana Window Tint Laws

Is 15 Tint Legal in Louisiana

In Louisiana, the legally-enforceable window tint limit will be 50% VLT for driver and the front passenger side windows. The back and rear windows are permitted to be tinted in any shade. A tint of 15% is too dark and won’t be legal.

Is Ceramic Tint Legal in Louisiana

At the moment, the use of ceramic tint is currently allowed in Louisiana. There are currently no laws or regulations that prohibit it. But, this could alter shortly. If you’re thinking of tinting your car’s windows with ceramic film, keep checking back for any updates.

Is 35 Tint Legal in Louisiana?

In Louisiana, the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission oversees window tinting laws. The legal limit for front-window tint is 35%. The legal limit for rear and side windows is 15% vlt. There are no other particular guidelines on window tinting.

What is the Darkest Legal Tint in Louisiana?

If you’re trying to find the darkest shade of legal color in Louisiana, choosing one with the visible Light Transmission (VLT) of 20% or less is best. This means that just 20% of light can pass through the window, which makes it much darker than other shades.

Leave a Comment