Window Tint Laws in Illinois: A Step-by-Step Guide [2023]

Car window tinting laws in IllinoisAre you considering getting your car windows tinted in Illinois? If so, you must know the state’s window tinting laws. These laws vary depending on the type of vehicle you drive, so it’s essential to research before you start.

In general, windshields in Illinois can only be tinted with a non-reflective tint that allows at least 70% of light to pass through. Rear and Side windows must allow at least 35% light.

Some exceptions exist to these laws, such as for vehicles with a factory-installed tint or vehicles used for medical reasons.

If you are caught driving with illegally tinted windows, you could be issued a citation and fined. In some cases, you may even have your vehicle towed. So it’s essential to ensure your windows are tinted within the legal limits.

To learn more about Illinois window tinting laws, you can go to the official website of the Illinois State Police. You can also find more details by contacting a local window tinting shop.

Window tint darkness in Illinois

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Illinois is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Illinois

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.
Rear window Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Illinois

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 50% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tint Reflection in Illinois

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Illinois window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: Must be non-reflective, state law is not specific about what this means.
Back Side windows: Must be non-reflective.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: Must be non-reflective, state law is not specific about what this means.
Back Side windows: Must be non-reflective.

Window Tint Laws Illinois

Illinois window tint rules and regulations

Illinois has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: Double side mirrors are required if back window is tinted.
Certificates: Manufacturers of film do NOT need to certify the film they sell in the state.
Restricted Colors: No colors of tint are explicitly banned by Illinois tint laws.
Medical Exceptions:  Illinois allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more information about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law.
Stickers No sticker to identify legal tinting is required.
Tint Variance: 5% variance.
Penalties
Petty offense with a $50-$500 fine. Second or subsequent violations are class C misdemeanors with a $100 – $500 fine.

Remember that Illinois tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.

Illinois Window Tint Violations

Illinois Window tinting laws in Illinois are quite accommodating and flexible; therefore, there’s no reason to gamble with blinding your windows illegally as the penalties for unlawful window tinting in Illinois could be substantial, so it’s recommended to try to avoid being charged with a window tint violation in Illinois.

Police usually have a device at their disposal that tests window tint VLT in a matter of minutes, which means that you’re likely to be caught and charged with illegal window tint at any time, even when you have your car inspected. The illegal tint could add significant cost to an already difficult traffic stop.

A first window tint infraction offense is assessed between $50 to $500, considered a civil violation. The second and subsequent violations of window tint in Illinois go into the realm of criminals. They are classified as class C misdemeanors priced between $100-$500, and there is the potential for criminal charges.

Illinois states’ laws on tint, and the penalties may change at any time, so be sure to check the most current window tint laws when you apply window film installed on the vehicle registered within the state.

Medical Exemptions for Window Tint in Illinois

Suppose you suffer from medical conditions requiring a darker tint than what is typically permitted under Illinois State law. In that case, you can request an eye exam with an ophthalmologist, dermatologist, general physician or any other medical professional. They will provide you with an official document outlining your darker tint requirement.

Medical tint exemptions typically be determined on a case-by-situation basis, so make sure you are conscious of your issues and requirements with both your physician and the window film installer and ensure that all documentation is cleared of your car’s tint at all times.

Front Side Window Tint for Cars in Illinois

According to Illinois state law, front windows of automobiles can be tinted to 35% VLT darkness, providing ample tinting to provide the privacy you desire and add design to vehicles.

It is important to note that you can reap the benefits of window films that block harmful UV light as well as hot IR light without using dark-tinted windows; however, if you wish to increase the privacy of your front windows, a 35% VLT tint is sure to fit the bill.

It is important to note that the moment you apply any perceptible tint on the front of your windows, you are restricted in the tint that you apply to the rear window. We will discuss that shortly. Rear Side Window Tint for Cars in Illinois

The side windows in the rear of a vehicle in Illinois could be tinted to 35% VLT. If there is no tinting on the side windows facing forward, then any dark window film can be used for the rear side windows. This is just one of the difficulties of Illinois tint laws.

Car Windshield Tint in Illinois

In Illinois, the regulations for tinting the windshield are the same for trucks, SUVs, vans, and automobiles, which is why this section applies to all privately-owned and operated vehicles registered within the state. Tint for windshields is placed in a strip 6 inches above the glass.

The tint must be reflective and non-reflective. Six inches is around the most amount of tinting for windshields that are permitted in any state. So ensure that if you bring cars to Illinois to register, there should be no problem tinting the windshield. Window factory-installed tints are almost always within this range of six inches.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Illinois Window Tint Laws

Is 5% Tint Legal in Illinois?

The answer is no; a 5% tint is prohibited in Illinois except for specific medical reasons. If the tint’s dark at 5% and the window is tinted, it only permits 5% light to enter. Therefore, it blocks 90% of visible light. 5% of windows with tints are opaque and appear black in the daylight.

Is 20 Percent Tint Legal in Illinois?

The tint of 20% is not legally permitted in Illinois. It means that the tinted windows block the light source to 80, allowing only 20% of light to pass through. The tinting limit that is legal in Illinois differs between vehicles. If you meet certain conditions, it is possible to apply less. But, this does not include an exemption for medical reasons.

How Much Is a Ticket for Tinted Windows in Illinois?

You could be issued a ticket for window tint in Illinois when you don’t comply with the law enacted in the State. Violating the tint laws is an offense that can be considered minor in Illinois. Your penalty can range between $100 and $500, depending on the circumstances. If this is your first time in this situation, the fine could be as little as $50; however, the fine will be greater when it’s your second infraction. If you wish to remain out of danger, be sure to follow all rules and laws within the legal limit within the legal limits of Illinois state.

Leave a Comment