The Ultimate Guide to Hawaii Window Tinting Laws [2023]

Car window tinting laws in Hawaii –  Are you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in Hawaii? If so, you must be aware of the state’s window tint laws.

In Hawaii, there are various rules and restrictions on how dark your window tint can be, depending on the type of window.

In this article, we’ll break down the Hawaii window tint law so you know exactly what’s allowed and not. We’ll also discuss the potential consequences of getting your windows tinted illegally.

So whether you’re just curious about the law or ready to start shopping for a tint shop, read on for all the information you need about Hawaii window tinting laws.

Window tint darkness in Hawaii

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Hawaii is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Hawaii

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield.
Rear window Must allow more than 35% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Hawaii

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

 

Car window tinting laws in Hawaii

Window Tint Reflection in Hawaii

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Hawaii window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Hawaii window tint rules and regulations

Hawaii has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: Double-side mirrors are required if the back window is tinted.
Certificates: Film manufacturers are not needed to certify the film they sell in this state.
Restricted Colors: No specified colors of tint are banned.
Medical Exceptions: Hawaii law does NOT allow medical exemptions that would allow you to use special tint.
Stickers No sticker to identify legal tinting is required by Hawaii law.
Tint Variance: 6%.
Penalties: $250 – $500 for vehicle owners, and $500 – $1000 for businesses.

Remember that Hawaii tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.    

Window Tint Violation Penalties in Hawaii

The penalties for tinting your vehicle in Hawaii are much more severe than in other states. It’s best not to gamble One ticket for a tint violation could be more expensive than your window tinting job.

Tickets for window tints in Hawaii could cost you from $250 to $500 for a private driver’s vehicle and $500 to upwards of $1,000 for commercially owned vehicles with an illegal tint.

You may be penalised again if you fail to get the illegally removed tint. The price of a window tinting ticket to Hawaii is too much to warrant the risk; therefore, ensure that your car’s tint is in the appropriate variation.

Window Tint Restrictions and Exemptions in Hawaii

The most common restriction for window tints in Hawaii is metallic and reflective tints. None are permitted at any reflectivity level. However, Hawaii’s laws don’t ban any unusual tint color. Most states restrict the amber or red shades of auto window film.

There’s also quite a degree of discretion in the tint’s variance in Hawaii, and the goal is to define how the tint’s darkness must conform to the state’s laws. The variance of tints in Hawaii can be as high as 6%, which is twice that of the majority of states that have an arbitrary variance (many do not have any), which means that when it is proven that it was used, to be honest, and legitimate, not as the attempt to evade the law, like with tints applied in other states even a vehicle that has a tint rating of 29% VLT could be able to get away with a ticket as it is within the 35% VLT threshold.

The laws of Hawaii do not require window tints installed or sold within Hawaii to be certified to be legal, and no stickers are required to be affixed to windows with window tinting. It is up to you, the vehicle’s owner, to make sure that the tint you choose to use is legally legal and to be aware that police officers and inspectors can conduct real-time field testing of the tint VLT.

Additionally, it is noteworthy that Hawaii is among the few states in which no medical exemptions are permitted that allow for darker tints of windows state law requires. It is not possible to use special tints even if you think you suffer from a medical condition that warrants it. So ensure you get the right sunglasses to protect your eyes and wear protective clothing. You can also make sure you purchase legal tints with high UV blocking. This is a standard characteristic of the majority of good tints.

Rear Windshield Tint in Hawaii

The law regarding tinting of the rear window in Hawaii is identical to the rules for tinting side windows. For automobiles, the rear windshield is only tinted by 35% or more VLT when it is dark, while larger vehicles could have any shade of tint applied on the rear window. The film is not reflective or metallic, regardless of VLT. If any tint for windows is applied to the rear windows, then the vehicle should include two side-view mirrors in good working order.

Rear Side Window Tint Rules in Hawaii

The rules for rear window tinting differ by vehicle kind in Hawaii. Privately-owned and operated cars are limited to the same tint of 35% VLT on the rear windows. Still, there are exceptions for vehicles used in livery service and other similar activities.

Vans, SUVs, and trucks can be fitted with any tinting on the rear window, such as a tint that makes the glass dark enough that it is not visible through the outside of the vehicle. The glass appears black, particularly in daylight time. No reflective or metallic tint is permitted, regardless of the car type.

Front Side Window Tint Rules in Hawaii

Within the State of Hawaii, window film laws permit all kinds of private automobiles to have window tints up to 35% dark on side windows facing the front, which is that the window is located to the left of the driver’s seat and the right of the front passenger’s seat.

The same rule applies to larger vehicles like SUVs and trucks and smaller cars like coupes and sedans. Window tints on the front of a vehicle in Hawaii must not be reflective or metallic in appearance.

Windshield Window Tint Laws in Hawaii

All vehicles, which includes automobiles and trucks, SUVs and vans, have tinted front windows that can be extended up to a maximum of 4 inches below the surface of the windshield, where it joins the roof. Like most states, the tint on windshields in Hawaii can’t be reflective since reflective tints can create blinding reflections for drivers driving in lanes that are on the move.

This 4-inch strip of tinted glass is a quarter of an inch shorter than the one permitted in many states and two inches less than the ones you’ll find in certain states. So be careful in taking a car into Hawaii, registered in another state since it will likely not comply with Hawaii tint requirements.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Hawaii Window Tint Laws

How Much Does Tint Ticket Cost in Hawaii?

$250 – $500 for vehicle owners, and $500 – $1000 for businesses.

What are Hawaii Truck Window Tint Laws?

For trucks, you can use 35% tint on the driver’s side window, and any tint darkness can be used on the rear and back windows.

What is the legal Hawaii front windshield tint law?

You can use tinted films on the top 4 inches.

What is the Darkest Legal Tint in Hawaii?

35% tint is the legal darkest tint in Hawaii.

Is 5 Tint Legal in Hawaii?

For passenger cars, tinting of 5% is not permitted. You can apply a tint of 5% to tint Multi-purpose cars, but only on the backside and back windows.

Leave a Comment