Georgia Window Tinting Laws: What You Need to Know [2023]

Car window tinting laws in GeorgiaAre you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in Georgia? If so, you must know the state’s window tinting laws.

In Georgia, the darkest legal window tint is 32%. This means that 32% of the light must be able to pass through the tint. Any darker than that, and you could be ticketed.

There are some exceptions to the 32% rule. For example, you can have a darker tint on the top 6 inches of your windshield. You can also have darker tints on the rear windshield and side windows of vans and SUVs.

If you need to know if your window tint is legal, you can ask a law enforcement officer or installer. They can help you determine if your tint is within the legal limits.

Window tint darkness in Georgia

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Georgia is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Georgia

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 32% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 32% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.
Rear window Must allow more than 32% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Georgia

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 32% of light in.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Window Tinting Laws Georgia

Window Tint Reflection in Georgia

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Georgia window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 20% reflective.

Georgia window tint rules and regulations

Georgia has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: No restrictions.
Certificates: Manufacturers of the film are required to certify the film they sell in the state. Make sure your dealer is using certified film.
Restricted Colors: The tint colors of RED and AMBER are not legal by state law.
Medical Exceptions: Georgia allows medical exemptions for special tint.
Stickers The sticker to identify legal tinting is no longer required.
Tint Variance: State laws allow a 3% light transmission tolerance.
Penalties: Misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 12 months imprisonment.

Remember that Georgia tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.

Window Tint Violation Penalties in Georgia

In Georgia, window tint violations can be analyzed at a stop in traffic, as police may use a gadget that tests the transmission of visible light. Window tint violations are typically $124, and you could be issued multiple tickets if you do not have your window tint replaced promptly or removed. The violations of window tints in Georgia are not considered moving violations; however, repeated violations can result in ever-higher fines.

Window Tint Medical Exemptions in Georgia

In Georgia, drivers who suffer from medical conditions that warrant additional protection from sunlight may be granted a medical exemption that allows more dark window film than the normal law allows.

Window film that blocks UV rays will protect eyes and skin from damage caused by sunlight and is an essential upgrade if you suffer from issues with your eyes or skin and spend a significant amount of time inside your car.

Consult a doctor, dermatologist, ophthalmologist, or dermatologist and request a form that grants you a medical tint exemption. Then, take the form to a tinter, and you can get a dark tint as you need it.

Be sure always to keep the window tint exemption form in your car.

Window Tint Restrictions and Requirements in Georgia

All shades and shades of window tints are legal in Georgia except red or amber tints, which are not legal in 2021 under Georgia window tint law. Suppose you’ve had tinted windows from an aftermarket company applied to your car.

In that case, Georgia law requires an official sticker that certifies the tint as being legally compliant with Georgia law. It must be placed in a prominent spot at the rear of your windshield.

Utilizing a window film that is certified to comply with state regulations is also mandatory. Suppose you already have window tints applied in Georgia by an established tinting business.

In that case, there should not be an issue since window tint manufacturers and sellers operating in Georgia must officially validate the window film they sell that is compliant with Georgia laws.

Rear Windshield Tint in Georgia

Cars in Georgia may only be equipped with window tints with the VLT darkening of 32% on the rear windshield; however, the same rules don’t apply to larger automobiles.

Similar to the side windows on the rear of larger vehicles such as trucks and vans, the rear windshields registered in Georgia can be tinted to any degree of VLT darkness. Contrary to many states, Georgia windows film laws do not contain any requirements concerning side mirrors in relation to tinting the rear of windows.

The film on the rear of your window may not reflect or be metallic in Georgia. Georgia.

Front Side Window Tint Rules in Georgia

In Georgia, cars, including coupes and sedans, can have window tints of 32% VLT or lower on their front windows, the ones behind the driver and passenger seats. Large vehicles like SUVs could also have front-side window tints as dark as 32% VLT. Be aware of the allotted variation.

The film on the front side of the window in Georgia can have reflectivity levels as high as 20%. The same regulation applies to cars and larger vehicles such as trucks and vans. However, for side window tints, Georgia tint laws differ in the different kinds of vehicles.

Rear Side Window Tint Rules in Georgia

The rules governing rear windows on vehicles in Georgia differ significantly for cars and larger vehicles; however, the distinction is clearly defined and easy to grasp. Cars are restricted to tints darkened to 32% VLT, which is permitted for front-side windows. However, trucks or SUVs can use any amount of tinting on rear side windows.

This means that your bigger vehicle may have darker or darker windows than the privacy of 5% the limo tint of any side window behind the front passenger and driver seats, regardless of whether the car includes seats in two rows or more rows.

For cars and larger vehicles, The side tint of the rear window is limited to 20 percent reflectivity, similar to the front side windows.

Windshield Window Tint Laws in Georgia

Georgia Window tinting laws in Georgia permit the use of tinting on the top part of the windshield. This strip extends to 6 inches lower than the surface of the glass.

This is one inch thicker than permitted in many states, so you’ll not have any issues with vehicles imported to Georgia from other states. Regulations for tinting the windshield in Georgia are identical for trucks, SUVs, vans, and cars.

Georgia laws permit only non-reflective tinting on the front of the windshield and are identical to the laws across the nation. Reflective window tints could reflect light at drivers who are in traffic that is on the other side.

It is important to note that the issue of tinting on windshields in Georgia is usually a non-issue issue since most vehicles are equipped with non-reflective window tint that falls within the limit of six inches before they leave the factory.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Georgia Window Tint Laws

Is 5% Tint Legal in GA?

For passenger vehicles, it is illegal to use five tints in GA. Use 5% tints for multi-purpose vehicles’ back and rear seat windows.

Is 20% Tint Legal in GA?

20% tint is not allowed in GA. However, 20% tint is permitted for vehicles with multi-purpose back and rear windows. It is not allowed for windows of passenger vehicles to have 20% tint.

Is 15% Tint Legal in Georgia?

No, 15% tint is not legal in Georgia. You can use 15% tint for rear and back seat windows for multi-purpose vehicles. But for passenger vehicles, you can’t use 15% tint on any window.

Leave a Comment