The Ultimate Guide to Window Tinting Laws in Florida

Car window tinting laws in Florida –  Are you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in Florida? If so, you must be aware of the state’s window tint laws.

In Florida, there are various rules and restrictions on how dark your window tint can be, depending on the type of window.

In this article, we’ll break down the Florida window tint law so you know exactly what’s allowed and not. We’ll also discuss the potential consequences of getting your windows tinted illegally.

So whether you’re just curious about the law or ready to start shopping for a tint shop, read on for all the information you need about Florida window tinting laws.

Window tint darkness in Florida

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Florida is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Florida

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 28% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 15% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Rear window Must allow more than 15% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Florida

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 28% of light in.
Back Side windows: Must allow more than 6% of light in.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Rear window: Must allow more than 6% of light in.

 

Window Tint Reflection in Florida

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Florida window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 25% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: Must not be more than 25% reflective.
Back Side windows: Must not be more than 35% reflective.

Florida window tint rules and regulations

Florida has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors:  Double-side mirrors are required in case any back windows are tinted.
Certificates: Film manufacturers don’t require to certify the film they sell in this state.
Restricted Colors: Florida does not permit any colored tint.
Medical Exceptions: Florida permits medical exemptions to specific tints. You should consult your state’s law for more information about the specifics that apply to the exemption.
Stickers The sticker that identifies legal tinting must be placed outside the jamb on the driver’s side of the door.
Tint Variance: State laws allow 3% light transmission tolerance.

Remember that Florida tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.  

Window Tint Violation Penalties in Florida

As we’ve mentioned before, in Florida windows, tinting violations could be quite expensive since every window with unapproved tints can lead to tickets.

For a sedan, this could translate to six violations or $696. If you have an SUV with two rear windows, the fine could be more than $900.

You could also be charged again if you don’t fix the tint. Infractions to window tints that occur in Florida are civil and not criminal.

They aren’t moving violations, so your record and insurance are unaffected. However, they can be costly and a hassle and are best to stay clear.

Florida Window Tint Medical Exemptions

Anyone with a medical issue that requires extra protection from sunlight may and should be granted an exemption that allows fewer VLT window tints than Florida law allows. This is crucial for placing darker tints on the side windows facing the front, but keep in mind that tinting for windshields will likely be banned.

Window tinting can protect the eyes and skin from sunburn, so don’t consult a doctor about getting a document to prove your need for medical-grade window film. Also, make sure you keep this certificate in your vehicle always.

Window Film Requirements and Restrictions in Florida

While generally permissive of window tint’s darkness, reflection, and placement, however, Florida’s tint laws are rather restricting when it comes to colors for window films.

Colored window tints are not permitted in Florida, and you can only legally apply window films that darken the windows but not tints them.

Window tint producers, installers, installers, and retail stores in Florida do not need to formally certify whether the film they offer conforms to state law; it is the consumer’s responsibility to select window film that is legal according to the state’s laws.

Any vehicle with tinted windows that the manufacturer does not make must have an identification sticker that identifies the tint as legal. This sticker is located in the interior of the jamb on the driver’s side.

Rear Window Tint in Florida

The tinting regulations for Florida’s rear windows, including the rear windshield, are identical to the rules for tinting the rear window. Cars can tint their rear window to a maximum VLT of 15%, and trucks, SUVs, and vans could have a rear window tinted to 6% VLT.

Front Windshield Window Tint Rules in Florida

It is not legal to tint windows above that AS-1 limit in Florida. Suppose your vehicle or truck’s AS-1 line isn’t visible. In that case, you may measure 5 inches below the top of your windshield or observe the point at which the sun shades touch the windshield when folded inwards; they are similar enough estimates to use as a reference.

The only non-reflective window tint can be used over the AS-1 level in Florida. Most vehicles come with tinted factory windows in this region, so tinting the windshield might not be necessary. Adding this film to your windows is smart if your windshield needs to be tinted.

It’s not really about fashion, but mostly about security. Tinting your windshield will reduce the sun’s glare, making driving safer, particularly during the early morning or late evening hours when the sun is shining down from an angle.

Rear Side Window Film Laws in Florida

The laws regarding tinting the rear of your vehicle in Florida differ for automobiles and larger vehicles, so we’ll take a look in separate ways.

For cars, rear side windows can be tinted up to 15% VLT. That’s more than enough darkness to provide ample privacy. The windows on the rear side could be more reflective than the front side windows having as much as 35% reflectiveness allowed.

The rear windows may be darker under Florida law regarding tint for trucks, vans, and SUVs. Larger vehicles may have windows that are as dark as 6% VLT. For reference, 5 VLT can be referred to as “limo tint” and is sufficiently dark to block the view during the daytime completely.

Be aware that any car with tinted windows on its rear windows should have dual side view mirrors in good functioning order to comply with the law.

Front Side Window Film Laws in Florida

Florida state law allows window windows on the side of the car, which are those windows in front of the driver and front passenger’s seat with window tints up to 28% VLT. (This is much darker than what is permitted in many states; in reality, several states prohibit front window tints.)

The regulations for front-facing window tints are the same for cars, trucks, SUVs and vans. It is important to note that this 28% VLT is the absolute darkness permitted when your car already had tint installed by the factory on the front of your windows, and you want to tint them further; it should not reduce the VLT to less than 28%.

The window film used on the side windows of vehicles registered in Florida must not exceed 25%  reflective. Window tints that reflect light can block the maximum amount of solar glare; therefore, reflecting a little is recommended. However, it is important to stay within the legal guidelines because a highly reflective tint is easily detected by officers of the law as well as vehicle inspection officers.

The windows on the front side of your vehicle cannot be tinted with tints coloured in any way, just tinting that creates privacy and darkness. Remember that reflectivity and colour laws are similar for cars and larger cars.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Florida Window Tint Laws

Is 5% Tint Legal in Florida?

In accordance with Florida Chapter 493, some circumstances will allow your vehicle to be tinted up to 5% tint. But, you can only get a 5% tint on your vehicle when you’re using a vehicle belonging to an agency licensed under this chapter and used by private investigators. If you’re a law enforcement officer working undercover, canine-related operations, or a medically exempt person can also apply a 5% tint on your vehicle. You’ll need proof to be eligible for a tinted vehicle with 5 conditions.

Is 15% Tint Legal in Florida?

In Florida’s window tinting law, the back and rear windows must let greater than 15 per cent of the light within the vehicle. For front windows, even though there’s a limit of 28% requirement for light.
The law permits you to use an unlimitable amount of tinted windows if you’re an agent of law enforcement if your vehicle is medically exempt, or if your vehicle is leased by or owned by an investigator from private.

Is 20% Tint Legal in Florida?

In Florida in Florida, the 20% tint darkness that the front of your vehicle is considered to be illegal. But, if you’re driving a passenger car, you may get as little as 15 tint darkness for the back of your windows. For the multi-purpose vehicle, the maximum tint darkness for your back window is 6% tint darkness.

What is The Legal Tint in Florida?

The tint that is legal in Florida differs for every type of vehicle. Although there isn’t a regulation that defines the best window tinting in Florida, the guidelines are in place to help you avoid paying huge penalties for illegal window tinting.

The Florida window tint statute stipulates that you’ll be breaking the law if the tint factory-installed on your car’s windows is greater than 70%. This ensures the passage of at minimum 28% sunlight can be let through the window of your vehicle.

If you’re a law enforcement personnel or have a medical exemption, the law allows you to get as little as 5% dark tint in your car. If you combine factory-tinted windows, you can have an 8% tint for multi-purpose vehicles.

Is Ceramic Tint Legal in Florida?

Florida tint laws permit the use of ceramic tints on your vehicle. However, the tint can only be used with windows that have been tinted by a factory. Also, you must make sure that the total transmission of light in your vehicle’s windows is more than 70 per cent. For vehicles that are multi-purpose, the light transmission should not be lower than 6% if you’re using ceramic films for your car windows.

Leave a Comment