Window Tinting Laws in Delaware: What You Need to Know to Stay Legal

Car window tinting laws in Delaware – Are you thinking about tinting your car windows in Delaware? If so, you must know the state’s window tinting laws.

Delaware has specific rules and regulations on how dark your window tint can be. Violating these laws can result in a hefty fine or even jail time.

In this article, we will outline the legal limits on window tinting in Delaware. We will also discuss the exceptions to these Window Tinting Laws in Delaware and the penalties for violating them.

Window tint darkness in Delaware

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Delaware is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Delaware

Front Side windows: No aftermarket tint allowed.
Back Side windows Any darkness can be used.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Rear window Any darkness can be used.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Delaware

Front Side windows:  No aftermarket tint allowed.
Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
Rear window: Any darkness can be used.

Delaware Window Tinting Laws

Window Tint Reflection in Delaware

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Delaware window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Delaware window tint rules and regulations

Delaware has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: If the back window is tinted then dual side mirrors are required.
Certificates: Film manufacturers don’t require to certify the film they sell in Delaware.
Restricted Colors: No colors of tint are banned.
Medical Exceptions: Delaware allows medical exemptions for specific tints. For more information on the specifics of the exemption, please refer to the law of your state.
Stickers The sticker for identifying the legal tinting requirement is placed between the film and glass on the driver’s side of the window.
Penalties $28.75 to $100.

Remember that Delaware tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.  

Windshield Window Tint Laws in Delaware

The AS-1 line is a straight line along the upper part of your car’s windshield, usually identified by small words on the sides of the front windshield; it’s a crucial mark to remember because beneath the AS-1 window tint is not legal.

To locate the AS-1 lines on your car’s windshield, you need to look towards the top and edge of your glass. If it’s not indicated, remember this: you’re in the right place. AS-1 line is located about five inches lower than the top of the windshield in most automobiles, and it is roughly where the sun’s shades in the cabin are positioned to touch the windshield when folded in.

Delaware windows tinting laws allow non-reflective tints on windshields. This is by the laws in most states. This is because reflective window tints could reflect, flash, and impede drivers’ vision in moving traffic. The tint on your windshield is essential for ensuring you are safe driving since it blocks out blinding sunlight, which could otherwise impede your view.

Rear Side Window Tint Rules in Delaware

As limited, however, Delaware window tinting laws may be about front-facing windows; the regulations are permissible for window tinting for rear-side windows of cars. Cars, vans, and SUVs can apply window tinting of any shade to their rear windows, even if it completely blocks the view of the vehicle.

These guidelines are perfect for parents wanting to shield their children from view, as well as livery businesses who wish to safeguard the privacy of their customers and privacy. Be aware that the rear window film cannot be reflective or metallic by Delaware state law.

Front Side Window Tint Rules in Delaware

Cars licensed with the state of Delaware are not permitted to be fitted with window tints for the front windows, the windows next to the driver’s seat and the so-called shotgun passenger seats. The same rules apply to trucks, cars, SUVs and vans: tints made by third-party vendors are illegal for front-facing windows.

However, there is a workaround: although you can’t legally add front window tints to your vehicle, Delaware window tinting regulations permit factory-installed window tints on front windows, provided that the tint is certified at 70 percent of visible light transmission. Or less.

Also, remember that even light tints block 99% of harmful UV light from the sun and can cut down on infrared heat and sun glare. Therefore, when buying an automobile, consider using factory-installed window tint as one of the criteria for purchasing your new vehicle.

Rear Windshield Tint in Delaware

Like the side windows in the rear and the rear side windows, the windshield of cars registered in Delaware could be tinted by whatever VLT darkness. The rear window could be transparent; however, in the event of window tinting on the rear of the windshield, even a lighter tint, Delaware window film regulations require that the vehicle be equipped with two mirrors on the sides that are not blocked. The rear window film cannot reflect or be metallic in Delaware. Delaware.

Window Tint Medical Exemptions in Delaware

Anyone suffering from an illness requiring additional sun protection may qualify for an exemption that allows windows with darker tints than Delaware law allows, which is particularly important when tinting front windows.

Window tints can shield the eyes and skin from sun-induced damage; therefore, feel free to speak with a doctor about obtaining a certificate confirming the need for medical window tint exemption if you think you’ll need it. Keep the paperwork in your vehicle when you receive window tints only due to a medical exemption not to get ticketed for tints you’re permitted to wear in the first place, as per Delaware law says:

“No person shall be convicted under this section if that person possesses a statement signed by a licensed practitioner of medicine and surgery or osteopathic medicine or optometry verifying that tinted windows are medically necessary for the owner or usual operator of said vehicle.” 21 Del. C. 4313(d).

Window Tint Restrictions and Requirements in Delaware

Contrary to most states, in which red and amber shades of window tints are prohibited in Delaware, the entire spectrum of window tints is permitted in Delaware.

While mirrored tints and metallic shades are not permitted, no shade or colour that window films are ad-hoc, allowing for the easy personalization of vehicles for a much lower cost than painting it (and much easier to modify)., too).

Window film installers, manufacturers and retailers in Delaware are not required to prove that their tint is compatible with the state’s requirements. The burden is on the purchaser to decide on a tint that is legal under the state’s law.

However, vehicles with tints that an aftermarket vendor applies must have a sticker placed on the film between glass in the driver’s side windows. The sticker should be evident.

 

Tint Law References:

FAQs Delaware Window Tint Laws

Is 20% Tint Legal in Delaware?

You can use any tint darkness on the rear and backside windows.

Is 5% Tint Legal in Delaware?

Yes, 5% tint is permitted in Delaware but without frontside and windshield.

What is The Darkest Legal Tint in Delaware?

The DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) allows a maximum of 70% darkness on the front side windows and any tint darkness you can use for the rear and back windows.

Who Signs Tint Waiver in Delaware?

In Delaware, the window tinting of cars is controlled through the Delaware state. Anyone who wants to tint windows for a car within the state must obtain written permission from an optometrist, physician or other. The doctor who authorized the tinting or optometrist should receive and stamp this authorization. The authorization must also contain details of who is approving the tinting and the make, model, and date of the car being tinted.

Where to Get Tint Waiver Signed in Delaware?

If you’re looking to get the Delaware tint waiver signed, the initial location to go is the closest Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) facility. To obtain an exemption from tinting, you must present your driver’s license, vehicle registration and evidence of insurance. In addition, the DMV will also ask you to prove installation, if required.

Leave a Comment