Colorado Window Tinting Laws: What You Need to Know

Car window tinting laws in Colorado – Are you thinking about tinting your car windows in Colorado? If so, you must know the state’s window tinting laws.

Colorado has specific rules and regulations on how dark your window tint can be. Violating these laws can result in a hefty fine or even jail time.

In this article, we will outline the legal limits on window tinting in Colorado. We will also discuss the exceptions to these Window Tinting Laws in Colorado and the penalties for violating them.

Window tint darkness in Colorado

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Colorado is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Colorado

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 27% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 27% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective 70% VLT tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield.
Rear window Must allow more than 27% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Colorado

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 27% of light in.
Back Side windows: Must allow more than 27% of light in.
Windshield: Non-reflective 70% VLT tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield.
Rear window: Must allow more than 27% of light in.

Car window tinting laws in Colorado

Window Tint Reflection in Colorado

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Colorado window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Colorado window tint rules and regulations

Colorado has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: Two side mirrors are required in the event that the back window is tinted.
Certificates: Film producers don’t have to certify the films they sell in Colorado.
Restricted Colors: The tint color(s) from RED and AMBER aren’t legal under the law of a state.
Medical Exceptions: Colorado law doesn’t permit medical exemptions to permit the use of special tints.
Stickers State law suggests but doesn’t require labels to distinguish legal tinting.
Penalties Class B traffic infraction, or misdemeanor with $500-$5000 fine.

Remember that Colorado tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.

Colorado window film laws specify that the only strip running along the top four inches of the windshield of a car can be tinted. In addition, the tint must have a rating of 70% VLT and not reflect. The tint will cut down on the harsh glare from the sun but not block the view of others, and since it is not able to remember so it cannot reflect and flash in the driver’s eyes who are in the lane ahead.

The rear window of the car’s rear window in Colorado could be tinted at 27% of VLT level as the windows on the sides of the vehicle. Also, please note that the 27 per cent VLT tint is dark enough to provide significant security to vehicles and improve their appearance. The reality that the same amount of tint is permitted on all except the front windshield allows uniformity in appearance.

Penalties for Window Tint Law Violations in Colorado

Illegal tinting of windows identified by a person with authority in Colorado is a possibility to file a traffic offence class B. They are typically secondary offences discovered following an arrest for a different reason; however, a very dark tint might result in the officer flagging your vehicle and halting you.

A traffic infraction of class B is less severe than an A-class infraction. It is a civil issue, not a criminal one, meaning no jail sentence is ever assessed. The fines range from $500 to $5000, while subsequent offences will incur more severe penalties. Infractions that are repeated could lead to suspending of your driving license.

A traffic violation of a class B window film case isn’t permissible for a jury trial. However, it could be an in-person trial, which will be judged by a judge who decides the verdict and the fines. It is best to remain in compliance with the law by using legally-approved Colorado window tints as well as the documentation and labels to prove that you don’t find yourself in the position of verifying the tint’s validity.

The window tinting rules for the windshields of larger vehicles in Colorado are the same as for cars: 70% VLT, or a less strip of non-reflective tint may be applied to 4 inches above the windshield.

Medical Exemptions for Auto Window Tint in Colorado

The answer is easy, yet surprising that there aren’t any medical exemptions for window tints in Colorado; therefore, even for those with a medical issue for which window tints are an issue of health protection, there are the same regulations that apply.

But windows with 27% VLT is sufficient to reduce the glare from the sun for those with eye problems. Any good car window tint can block 99 per cent of the sunlight’s UV rays (whether tinted or optically transparent), which means there’s no reason to worry about the effects on the skin, even for people with poor skin health. Be sure to choose a UV blocker window tint, regardless of the darkness and privacy rating.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Colorado Window Tint Laws

What Are the Benefits of Legal Window Tinting?

Colorado The main benefits of tinted windows are the reduction in light entering your car’s windows. Tinting your windows will also increase your comfort and improve visibility. Window tinting also helps to reduce the sun’s heat from getting inside your car and improve the comfort of those who drive for long hours in bright sunlight.

How Much Is the Penalty for Illegal Window Tint in Colorado?

It is possible to be liable for an amount of $500- $5,000 for a window tint violation in Colorado. The amount you pay will depend on the degree of the tint violation if you’ve been fined for violating Colorado Window tint regulations, and if you’ve committed other offences that resulted in the traffic arrest.

Can You Be Pulled Over for Window Tint in Colorado?

Yes, Police officers could conduct a traffic check when they suspect that the tint of a motorist’s window does not conform with the state’s law. Suppose you prefer dark-tinted windows and have ensured that your windows have a VLT percentage within acceptable limits. In that case, you should have labels placed where they are easily visible to ensure that police can easily determine if your tint conforms to the law.

Can I Have 20 Tints on My Vehicle’s Windows in Colorado?

20 VLT window tints would only allow 20% sunlight to enter the window. According to Colorado’s window tinting regulations, this kind of window tint is dark in the majority of cases. However, if the car’s front windows are at least 70 VLT or more, back windows may be tinted with 20 VLT or darker tints.

Is Colorado Strict on Window Tint?

Any infraction of Colorado’s window tinting regulations could result in significant fines. Although you might like the appearance of dark-tinted windows, you need to ensure that your vehicle complies with relevant window tinting laws. If the police find that your car is not in compliance with these regulations, you’re likely to be fined and have to pay to get your tinted windows altered per the state’s law.

Can You Have 5 Tint in Colorado?

5 tint or 5% tint, often known as “limo tint” only permits just 5% of light to pass through the windows. It is the darkest form of window tint and is only allowed in certain cars under certain conditions. The law permits you to put 5 % tint on the vehicle’s rear and side windows so long as the front windows and front windshields have at 70 % VLT.

Leave a Comment