Arkansas Window Tinting Laws Explained [2023]

Car window tinting laws in Arkansas – Are you thinking about tinting your car windows in Arkansas? If so, you must know the state’s window tinting laws.

Arkansas has specific rules and regulations on how dark your window tint can be. Violating these laws can result in a hefty fine or even jail time.

In this article, we will outline the legal limits on window tinting in Arkansas. We will also discuss the exceptions to these Window Tinting Laws in Arkansas and the penalties for violating them.

Window tint darkness in Arkansas

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Arkansas is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Arkansas

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 25% of light in.
Back Side windows Must allow more than 25% of light in.
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield.
Rear window Must allow more than 10% of light in.

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Arkansas

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 25% of light in.
Back Side windows: Must allow more than 10% of light in.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield.
Rear window: Must allow more than 10% of light in.

Window Tinting Laws Arkansas

Window Tint Reflection in Arkansas

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Arkansas window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Arkansas window tint rules and regulations

Arkansas has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: No restrictions.
Certificates: Film producers are not required in Arkansas to certify their films.
Restricted Colors: No colors of tint are explicitly prohibited by law.
Medical Exceptions: Arkansas allows for medical exemptions to tint.
Stickers The sticker identifying legal tinting on the driver-side window is needed.
Penalties Class B misdemeanor.

Remember that Arkansas tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.  

Illegal Window Tint Penalties in Arkansas

In Arkansas, illegal window tint is a misdemeanor of Class B. In Arkansas, a violation of the window tint law can result in a steep penalty: a fine up to $1000 or up to 90 days in jail.

Although it is unlikely that the authorities will enforce the maximum punishment for window tint violation, especially on the first offense, these penalties can be harsh and should not be avoided.

Anyone who can see the car tint can easily see it. If you have window tint that is near the darkest possible but still legal under Arkansas law, you could be attracting unwanted attention.

If you want the darkest tint legal in Arkansas for style, privacy, or any other reason, then it is best to choose a more transparent tint. This will prevent an officer or inspector from questioning the tint.

Even transparent window tints can block 99% of harmful UV light, reduce the warming infrared rays, and cut harsh glare from the sun. Window tints with modest reductions in VLT can increase privacy. You don’t need extra-dark windows to get the benefits of auto window tint.

Visible Light Transmittance (VLT) is the percentage of visible light that can pass through your car’s windows. In

Arkansas, the percentage of light that can pass through your glass and film differs depending on whether you have a sedan or a recreational vehicle. The darker the window, the lower the percentage of tint. This is because the VLT refers to the amount of light that’s let through.

Medical Exemptions for Car Window Tint Rules in Arkansas

Arkansas law allows vehicle owners to tint their windows in certain medical conditions. This would be illegal without the medical exemption. A medical window tint exemption is available for people with skin or eye conditions requiring extra protection from sunlight.

Consult your doctor for a signed, official document proving you are eligible for a medical exemption from window tint. Bring this document with you to a trusted installer of window films before having the film installed.

If you can get tint on your windows due to special circumstances, you should always keep the doctor-approved documentation in your vehicle. This will allow you to show the tint exemption to police officers.

Remember that you may not need darkened windows to reduce UV exposure. Many optically transparent or nearly transparent window tints can still block up to 95% of the ultraviolet light from the sun. A clear window tint is the best way to comply with Arkansas window film law and protect your skin and eye from UV light.

Window Tint Color and Reflectivity Laws in Arkansas

Arkansas window tint laws prohibit reflective or metallic tints on any surface of the vehicle’s window, including the front windshield, side windows, and rear window.

In Arkansas, while you can’t have a mirrored tint on your car, you can use any shade or color of tint. The state laws don’t expressly forbid any tint. Some window tint colors can reduce the visibility of a vehicle’s window glass.

Remember that blocking a window with inferior window film can be illegal, as in many other states. It may be unlawful if the window tint is bubbled, cracked, or peeled so that the window cannot be seen. It is better to avoid cheaper window tints, which will eventually discolor, crack, or bubble.

The money you save upfront won’t be worth the hassle and expense of having the tint replaced later, nor the risk of an infraction.

Ceramic-based window films for cars in Arkansas are durable and can last many years. In many cases, they will even last as long as your vehicle. Like some other states, Arkansas has no requirements regarding side view mirrors and window tint.

Window Tint Laws for Trucks, SUVs, and Vans in Arkansas

Arkansas law allows darker tints on larger private vehicles such as vans, SUVs, and trucks. The front side windows are restricted to a 25% VLT darkness, while the rear side windows may be tinted to a 10% VLT.

For reference, a VLT rating of 5% is called limo-tint and completely blocks the view inside the vehicle during daylight hours. It is nearly as dark at 10% VLT.

On trucks, vans, and sport utility vehicles, the rear windshield can also be tinted to a maximum of 10% VLT. The rules for the front windshield are similar to those of cars. A five-inch band is allowed at the top of the glass.

In Arkansas, each window tint applied to a vehicle aftermarket must be marked with a sticker that shows that the tint meets Arkansas state regulations.

These stickers must be visible outside and between the glass film and the window tint. Applying these stickers correctly can help reduce the chances of a problem during a vehicle inspection or if the police stop you.

Consult your window tint installer before installing window tint. Make sure they use a film that is allowed by Arkansas State rules, and they will also apply the stickers if needed.

Tint Law References:

FAQs Arkansas Window Tint Laws

How Much Does Arkansas Window Tint Ticket Cost?

Arkansas has now made window tinting punishable with a fine of $1,000. This new law was passed on July 1, making Arkansas one of the states with more stringent laws against window tinting. The Arkansas Department of Transportation says window tint can reduce driver visibility and increase accidents. For a first offense, the fine is $300. A second or subsequent offense will result in a fine of $1,000.

Is Ceramic Tint Legal in Arkansas?

Installing ceramic tinting on your vehicle is legal in Arkansas. In Arkansas, Vehicle Code Section 23-5-417 says that a vehicle can only be painted with ceramic coatings if they meet ASTM D6662. Ceramic tinting is not considered a window treatment but a finish. You don’t require a Department of Transportation permit or certification.

Is Windshield Tint Legal in Arkansas?

You can tint the top five inches on your windshield. In Arkansas, windshield tints that meet state guidelines are legal.

Is 35 Percent Tint Legal in Arkansas?

Arkansas allows a tint of 35 percent. You can use a window film to reduce the amount of light that comes through your windows. This film is commonly used on cars to make them look darker and less noticeable. This law does have some limitations. The film must not block the view of any driver, passenger or pedestrian. It also cannot obscure the view of the road for the driver.

Is 20 Tint Legal in Arkansas?

Arkansas law stipulates that car windows tint must be at least 20% on the front and 10% on the back. Installing a tint below 20% on the front side of windows is illegal in Arkansas. Law enforcement officials discourage any tint below 30%.

Is 5 Tint Legal in Arkansas?

In Arkansas, a tint of 5% is illegal. Arkansas limits the maximum tint to 20%. If you tint your windows 5%, you may face fines or license suspension. Laws are strictly enforced, and those who violate them may face severe consequences.

Leave a Comment