Alaska Window Tinting Laws – What You Need to Know

Car window tinting laws in Alaska – Are you thinking about tinting your car windows in Alaska? If so, you must know the state’s window tinting laws. In Alaska, specific restrictions exist on how dark your window tint can be. If you violate the law, you may receive a citation or have your car impounded. In this article, we will discuss the Alaska window tinting laws in detail. We will also provide tips on choosing the right window tint for your car.

Window tint darkness in Alaska

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Alaska is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Darkest legal tint for Sedans in Alaska

Front Side windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in
Back Side windows Must allow more than 40% of light in
Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield
Rear window Must allow more than 40% of light in

Darkest legal tint for SUVs and Vans in Alaska

Front Side windows:  Must allow more than 70% of light in
Back Side windows: Must allow more than 40% of light in
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield
Rear window: Must allow more than 40% of light in

Up to 3% window tint variance is permitted.

Window Tinting Laws Alaska

Window Tint Reflection in Alaska

Window tints reflect light, reducing heat and glare. Alaska window tint law allows the reflection of a specific window when tinted; you should be aware of this, too.

Tint reflection for sedans:

Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Tint reflection for SUVs and vans:

Front Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.
Back Side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance.

Alaska window tint rules and regulations

Alaska has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

Side Mirrors: No restrictions on side mirrors in Alaska. Alaska.
Certificates: Film producers are not required to certify the films that they offer in the state of.
Restricted Colors: Colors for window tints that are allowed include grey, green bronze, and neutral smoke.
Medical Exceptions: Alaska allows medical exemptions for passengers or drivers who regularly travel in the vehicle. Medical exemptions need to be renewed each year through an Alaska-licensed doctor.
Stickers The absence of a label to show legally tinted clothing is needed under the law.
Penalties: Maximum $300 plus a $10 surcharge if not resolved within the specified time.

Remember that Alaska tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement authorities.

The Benefits of Window Tint for Cars in Alaska

Window tinting in Alaska is worth the expense of its installation, and it will repay itself over many years. It accomplishes this in a variety of ways. First, tinted windows block the warm infrared light entering the vehicle, making it more relaxed, which means less need for fuel-burning AC in the summertime. Window tint also provides insulation, which helps keep the vehicle warmer during winter.

However, the UV-blocking properties of window tints make it one of the most beneficial investments you could make. The tint block 99 per cent of UV light from the sun, which means that the fading, peeling, and cracking often found on dashboards, upholstery and other surfaces of your vehicle will be prevented, making your car look good for a long time and ensuring your car will be resold. This is crucial given the long, sunny days of the summer months in Alaska.

When it’s time to sell a car, van, truck and SUV, tint that protects the interior from damage will be repaid numerous times.

The National Highway Safety Traffic Administration (NHTSA) establishes the standards for auto manufacturers in relation to the tinting and the glazing on windows. [Federal motor vehicle safety Standards No. 205, Glazing Materials (49 CFR §571.205)].

A clause of Standard No. 205 demands at least 70% light transmission in any area of glazing required for driver visibility.

The amount of visible light that can be reflected through the windows of your car is called VLT, Visible Light Transmission. The amount of light permitted through your window film and glass in Alaska is extremely specific. It differs for vehicles like sedans instead of multi-purpose passenger or recreational vehicles. The lower the tint percentage, the more dark your windows will appear, as the VLT refers to the quantity of light let through.

Note: The information’s exactness, reliability, quality or validity cannot be guaranteed or warranted. We aren’t lawyers or an attorney firm and don’t offer legal advice. We suggest you speak with an attorney or another appropriate professional for advice on legal matters.

Penalties for Illegal Window Tint in Alaska

In addition to the non-severe approach to legally certifying window tint and paperwork, Alaska laws are generally mild in enforcing window tint regulations and regulations. Infractions to window tint regulations can lead to an additional $300 fine and a $10 charge.

However, it is only the case if you can’t demonstrate that you have had the illegal tint removed within a certain duration. So, if you are found with an illegal window tint, it can result in nothing less than having that tint removed, and should you choose, replace it with a tint that complies with Alaskan laws.

The $300 fine is far more than the amount you’d be charged for the first glass tint in another state, and the earliest violation can be as low as $25. (Certain states reserve the right to sentence a person to prison in case of a violation of windows tinting laws.)

Medical Exemptions for Alaska Window Tint Rules

In many cases, Alaskans apply window tint to their vehicles, which would generally be unlawful to alleviate medical concerns. You must obtain a valid letter explaining your need for a special tint from a licensed physician in Alaska to be eligible for a medical exemption from the law on window tints. The exemption has to be renewed each year by a doctor.

The most common medical reasons for needing the darker tint permitted by Alaska law are issues in the eye, where bright light could be harmful or cause skin damage or eye issues related to the predisposition for skin cancer.

Once you have a document showing you have medically-exempted window tint take it to a certified window tinting store in Alaska and collaborate with the installer to determine the best kind of window tint for your vehicle based on your medical requirements.

Window Film Certificates and Stickers in Alaska

Alaska places most of the obligation to adhere to window tint laws into the hands of the citizens, including window tint makers, sellers and installers as individuals who decide to purchase window tinting for their cars.

Tint sellers and manufacturers are not required to confirm any window film they sell as complying with the state’s requirements; they must do it.

Additionally, a driver with tinted windows does not have to keep documentation proving the legitimacy of their tint or be able to display stickers on their tinted windows that display the VLT and type for the shade.

If your tint is darker than the legal limit due to an exemption for medical reasons, It is an excellent idea to keep a duplicate of the doctor-certified document in your car but not required.

Window Film Reflectivity and Tint Colors Laws in Alaska

To reduce glare, which can make it difficult to see on the road ahead, and decrease the amount of heat that makes interiors hot, a large number of car owners opt for reflective window tints that block much more light than non-reflective tint (or just glass windows on their own) However, the degree of reflection is governed to a certain extent by Alaska window tint law. Consult with the installer to confirm that the tint you’re contemplating is light enough to break window film reflection rules.

Regarding the tint colors for windows in Alaska, there are many choices. Window tints that have colored in green, grey bronze, or neutral smoke shade are all acceptable, and other tints for windows aren’t allowed. Mirrored or metallic looks are not allowed, so make sure that your window film is not shiny, particularly in the case of bronze-colored tints for your windows, because many car window films that are this metallic hue do not have an attractive finish.

Tint Law References:

FAQs

Is 5% Tint Legal in Alaska?

Based on the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles, 5 tint is not legally permitted in Alaska. For health reasons, you be eligible for an exemption to this level of tint applied to your vehicle. The DMV also stipulates that tints higher than 30% are prohibited within the state.

Is 20% Tint Legal in Alaska?

The tinting of 20% is not legally permitted in Alaska as per the state’s automobile code. The law says that no window tint that is greater than 1 % is not legal in Alaska. This means that if the vehicle has a tint of 20%, the window panes must be at least 2 inches thick to comply with the law.

How Much Does an Alaska Window Tint Ticket Cost?

The tinting of windows in Alaska is priced between $10-$300, depending on the city. Generally, most municipalities charge between $25 and $100 for window tinting and will add a charge for vehicles with darker windows. The charges can change, and you must inquire with your local municipal office directly to get the most current details.

Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Alaska?

Yes. Like other police forces, Alaskan officers reserve the right to detain drivers whose tints appear darker than the legally permitted limit. When they stop you and request a report, the officer will conduct tests on your VLT, and If they’re too dark, you’ll face an additional fine.

What are the Alaska window tinting laws?

The Alaska window tinting laws are as follows:
The windshield can have a non-reflective tint on the top 5 inches.
The front side windows must allow more than 70% of light in.
The back side windows and rear windows must allow more than 40% of light in.

What are the penalties for violating the Alaska window tinting laws?

If you violate any Alaska window tinting regulations, You could receive an infraction notice or even confiscate your vehicle. The penalties you face will depend upon the seriousness of your offense.

How to choose the right window tint for your car?

When you decide to tint your vehicle’s windows, there are a few aspects you should be aware of. First, ensure the tint complies with Alaska window tinting regulations. In addition, you need to select the right tint that will give you the privacy and security you require. Many window tints are available in the market, so you’ll be able to choose one that suits your requirements. If you’re still deciding what kind of tint to select, you should consult an expert window tint installer.

Leave a Comment