Window Tinting Laws Alabama – Everything You Need to Know

Car Window Tinting Laws Alabama – Are you thinking about getting your car windows tinted in Alabama? If so, you must know the state’s window tinting laws. Alabama has different regulations for SUVs/vans and passenger cars.

The top six inches of the windshield can be tinted for passenger cars, but the rest must allow at least 32% of light in. The rear and side windows can also be tinted but must allow at least 32% light.

For SUVs/vans, the front windshield can be tinted up to the AS-1 line, the manufacturer’s recommended tint line. The rear and side windows can be tinted as dark as you want if you have outside rearview mirrors on each side of the vehicle.

If you break the window tinting laws in Alabama, You could be pulled over by police and handed a ticket. The fine for the first violation is $25. If you commit a second offense, it is $50. For an additional offense or a third, it is $100.

Before you decide to tint your car’s windows in Alabama, verify the state’s laws regarding window tinting.

There are also additional car window tinting regulations and rules in Alabama, so read all about them below.

Alabama Tinting Regulations

Passenger Cars and Station Wagons:

Alabama Tinting Regulations

  • ONLY the upper six inches of the front windshield may be tinted. (MATERIAL APPLIED MUST BE TRANSPARENT)
  • The reflective material may not reflect more than 20% of light.
  • ALL OTHER windows (Rear and sides) may have tinting that allows at least 32% light transmission with a 3% tolerance.

Multi-purpose Passenger and Recreational Vehicles:

Alabama Tinting rules Regulations

FRONT SEAT and FRONT WINDSHIELD windows are subject to the same rules as passenger cars and station wagons. 

  • On the windows BEHIND the driver, darker tinting is permitted by the vehicle manufacturer by Federal law. 
  • Outside rearview mirrors on EACH vehicle side are required when the darker tint is installed. 
  • The MANUFACTURER determines the classification of the vehicle. 

Window tint darkness in Alabama

The percent of visible light allowed via your car windows is called Visible Light Transmission (VLT). The percentage of light allowed through your glass and film in Alabama is particular and different for sedan cars and vans or SUV cars.

Tint darkness for vans and SUVs:

  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 32% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.
  • Rear Window: Any darkness can be used.

Tint darkness for sedans:

  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 32% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Must allow more than 32% of light in.
  • Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.
  • Rear Window: Must allow more than 32% of light in.

Other Alabama window tint rules and regulations

Alabama has several other significant laws, regulations, and guidelines relating to window tinting. These include:

  • Stickers A sticker or label of conformity that identifies the legality of tinting between the film and glass on each tinted glass window.
  • Side Mirrors No limitations.
  • Medical exemptions: Alabama permits medical exemptions to special tint. For more information about the specifics of this exemption, check AL, the state’s law.
  • Penalties: $100 and 10 days in prison per first conviction. A second conviction within one year, maximum of $200, or 30 days in prison. A third and subsequent offense within one year is $500 and a maximum of 3 months in jail.
  • Colors that are restricted in Alabama any tint color is permissible.
  • Certificates Film manufacturers must certify the films they offer in the state. Find out if your dealer uses certified film.

Remember that Alabama tinting regulations and laws could differ in your locality or residence. Always make sure to double-check the accuracy of our information with your nearby DMV as well as law enforcement officials.

Alabama Department of Public Safety

The Alabama Department of Public Safety is the uniform section of the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, serving the U.S. state of Alabama. It comprises three divisions: Marine Patrol Division, Highway Patrol Division, and Drivers’ License Division.

All vehicles registered in the State of Alabama must comply with Alabama’s window tinting law, Act. 96-534, effective August 15, 1996.

TITLE 32, MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC, CHAPTER 5C

Medical Waivers (32-5C-4): You may apply for an exemption from this chapter for certain medical conditions. Your physician must make a certification. The exemption may be issued with conditions and limitations prescribed by the Department of Public Safety.

Compliance Stickers (32-5C-6): All new tinting and vehicles with existing tinting that meets the standards must display a visible sticker/label of compliance. A tinting dealer must affix these stickers/labels. No person shall install any material on the windshield or windows in violation of 32-5C-2. 

Medical Waiver Detail Contact:

  • Alabama Law Enforcement Agency
  • Driver License Division
  • Medical Records Unit
  • P.O. Box 1471
  • Montgomery, AL 36102
  • Phone: 334.242.4239

The Bottom Line

In conclusion, it’s essential to know laws in Alabama window tinting laws when considering getting your vehicle tinted. Although there are a few restrictions, the benefits of tinting your windows are worthwhile to adhere to the guidelines. To find out more about Alabama’s window tinting regulations or to find an approved installer, visit the official website that the Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center operates.

The article intends to inform readers about Alabama tint laws allowing you to drive your car around the state. The article you’re reading recently was last updated in 2021. If you believe we’ve left out any changed information, please get in touch with us whenever you’d like.

Tint Law References:

FAQs

What is Legal Window Tint in Alabama?

In Alabama, the law on window tinting states a window cover that lets greater than 32% of light through is deemed illegal. Tinting is allowed legally in Alabama for windshields but only provided it meets the requirements. Tinting is permitted on up to six inches on the sides of your car; however, you are not permitted to tint it with dark shades which block out more than 33 percent light.

What is the Darkest Legal Tint in Alabama?

As per the Alabama Vehicle Code, the legal darkest tint is 32. This means that any windows with the same type of tint will be deemed illegal in Alabama. Alabama. The law states that any window with a tint over 32 percent darker cannot be used when driving. That means that even if you might have windows coated with a darker-than-average tint, it is still prohibited if the tint is below the minimum.

How Much is a Tint Ticket in Alabama?

Tinting a vehicle without a license in Alabama is considered a misdemeanor. It can result in a maximum penalty of 10 days in prison and a fine of $100. A first conviction for tinting a car without a permit can cause a driver’s license suspension.

Is 5 tint legal in Alabama?

In general, 5 percent tint is prohibited in Alabama. But, you can use a tint of 5% for your multi-purpose automobile’s back and rear windows. If you wish to obtain a darker window tint rating higher than that, you must get a permit from the Alabama Department of Public Safety.

Is 20 Tint Legal in Alabama?

In general, tinting 20% is not legal in Alabama. However, you can apply 20% tint on your multi-purpose automobile’s rear and back windows. However, if you’d like to obtain a dark tint rating, you must get a permit from the Alabama Department of Public Safety.

Is 35% Tint Legal in Alabama?

The tinting of windows within Alabama is permitted as the dark bar is not greater than 32. However, You are permitted to apply all dark windows tint on the rear and front windows of a multi-purpose vehicle. However, if you’d like to obtain a darker tint rating is required, you must obtain a permit from the Alabama Department of Public Safety.

Is 50% Tint Legal in Alabama?

Tinting windows in Alabama is permitted, provided the dark bar is not over 32. You are, however, permitted to apply all tint you want to tint darkening in the rear and back windows of a multi-purpose vehicle. If you wish to have a higher tint than this, you’ll require authorization through the Alabama Department of Public Safety.

Is 70% Tints Legal in Alabama?

Alabama is home to one of the least restrictive laws regarding tint in the United States. You are legally able to drive with a tint of 32. Hence, 70% tint is not illegal. If you wish to have a darker rating than this, you must get a permit from the Alabama Department of Public Safety.

Leave a Comment